Skip to main content

Musqueam and UBC

Getting Started

The University of British Columbia is located on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓ speaking xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam) people. This research guide provides resources and research strategies for deepening knowledge of this relationship and of Musqueam. 

Map from the Musqueam Declaration, 1976.

TIP: Try searching "Musqueam endowment lands development" and "UBC Block F" using Google to find out about recent announcements for Musqueam land development.

Featured Videos

"The Musqueam people have been here since the beginning. [...] From the youngest Elected Chief and Council in 1951 and ongoing legal precedents, such as the Guerin case (1984) and Sparrow Case (1990), Musqueam Through Time tells the story of a timeless culture that continues to guide not just the Musqueam people, but Canada as a whole."

Created for Musqueam Indian Band by Gryphon Productions (c) 2010. All rights reserved.

 

In this story from April 23, 1989, CBC reporter Bill Amos covers the protest of the creation of Pacific Spirit Regional Park.

See CBC News article "'We're still here': Musqueam elder reflects 30 years after Pacific Spirit Park protest" by Roshini Nair (2019, April 21) for more.

Featured Resources

Indigenous Foundations: Musqueam Legal History Digital Media Archive

A collection of digitized newspaper clippings from the mainstream press about Musqueam's precedent-setting legal battles. Indigenous Foundations also highlights the Guerin Case and the Sparrow Case.

For Indigenous press, try searching within Indigenous newspapers, such as Windspeaker or Kahtou News, through the CBCA Complete database.

xʷməθkʷəy̓əm: qʷi:l̕qʷəl̕ ʔə kʷθə snəw̓eyəɬ ct
Musqueam: giving information about our teachings

This teaching resource comes out of a collaboration between Musqueam and the Museum of Anthropology. Via an interactive website, it provides the following resources:

  • Language, showcasing the hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓ alphabet
  • Stories, which provides access to a collection of digital storybooks, written for the purpose of language learning
  • Community Profiles, which provide the opportunity to learn about Musqueam directly from Musqueam community members
  • Video Gallery, which hosts community videos featuring Musqueam community members discussing issues of importance to our people
  • Delta Animation
  • Historic Timeline, focusing specifically on the legal and political forces that have affected and continue to affect Musqueam as a community and one of our many village sites, c̓əsnaʔəm
  • Teacher Resources, available for free in PDF format