Research Guides: Ready to Publish: Trauma-Informed Librarianship: Articles and Databases

Need Help Finding Articles?

UBC Library guide to finding articles on a topic, from a list (bibliography), on course reserve, and through Interlibrary Loan.

Key Databases

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
LISTA indexes nearly 700 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings; coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management.
Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
LISA currently abstracts over 440 library and information science periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages.
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Premier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
PubMed (1946 - present)
Premier database containing over 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.
Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts indexes current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.
Social Work Abstracts
Indexes current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, community development.
Sociology Collection
Includes Sociological Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and full text from the journals included in Sociology Database.

A Trauma-Informed Approach to Library Services by Rebecca Tolley
Call Number: Z711.92.S6, T65 2020

ISBN: 9780838938355

Publication Date: 2020
Widen the Window by Elizabeth A. Stanley; Bessel van der Kolk (Foreword by)
Call Number: WM172.4 .S787 2019

ISBN: 9780735216594

Publication Date: 2019-09-24
A Trauma-Informed Framework for Supporting Patrons: The PLA Workbook of Best Practices by Social Worker Task Force, The Public Library Assocation
Call Number: Z711.92.S6, T73 2022

ISBN: 9780838938201

Publication Date: 2022
Trauma-Informed Librarianship: Seeding Change in Higher Education by Kimberlie Sullivan
Publication Date: 2020

Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommerical 4.0 International License

Conley, S., Ferguson, A., & Kumbier, A. (2019). Supporting students with histories of trauma in libraries: A collaboration of accessibility and library services. Library Trends, 67(3), 526-549. https://doi.org/10.1353/lib.2019.0001

Davey, K., Czarnecki, K., Watson, D., Grandon, K., Amado, R., & Vieau, J. (2020). A different kind of light: Restoring the library community through trauma-informed services: The path to trauma-informed justice for teens is not always straight and narrow. Young Adult Library Services, 19(1), 29.

Eades, R. (2020). Creative community connections: Trauma-informed services for teens at athens-clarke county library: Sometimes, working with established organizations is the best way to provide trauma-informed services. Young Adult Library Services, 19(1), 18.

Finch, B., & Real, B. (2023). Social workers in public libraries: Resource and referral practice and re-thinking patron engagement. Public Library Quarterly (New York, N.Y.), 42(4), 325-347. https://doi.org/10.1080/01616846.2023.2199671

Founds, S. D. (2024). Trauma-informed librarianship: An exploratory literature review of trauma-informed approaches in school, academic and public libraries. Reference Services Review, 52(1), 7-22. https://doi.org/10.1108/RSR-03-2023-0030

Grimes, N. D. (2024). Navigating mental health and wellness in communities: A review of the literature and implications for libraries, librarians, and library workers. The Reference Librarian, 65(3-4), 81-104. https://doi.org/10.1080/02763877.2024.2394070

Gupta, A., Liu, Y., Lin, T., Zhong, Q., & Suzuki, T. (2024). Listening to diverse voices: Inclusive pedagogy and culturally responsive teaching for library interactions. Reference Services Review, 52(1), 66-85. https://doi.org/10.1108/RSR-04-2023-0042

Nelsen, K., Peterson, K., McMillin, L., & Clarke, K. (2022). Imperfect and flexible: Using trauma-informed practice to guide instruction. Portal (Baltimore, Md.), 22(1), 177-197. https://doi.org/10.1353/pla.2022.0003

Ogden, L. P., & Williams, R. D. (2022). Supporting patrons in crisis through a social work-public library collaboration. Journal of Library Administration, 62(5), 656-672. https://doi.org/10.1080/01930826.2022.2083442

Pelayo, E. (2020). Trauma-informed school libraries: A space for all. Knowledge Quest, 48(3), 50-55.

Sharkey, C. N., Elkins, J., & Johnson, Z. (2023). Field note-creating trauma-informed library spaces: Lessons learned from a pilot program. Journal of Social Work Education, 59(2), 583-590. https://doi.org/10.1080/10437797.2021.1978913

Wahler, E. A. (2023). Trauma-informed librarianship: Guidance for libraries with and without social workers. Journal of the Australian Library and Information Association, 72(4), 452-471. https://doi.org/10.1080/24750158.2023.2255942

Grey Literature

Center for Substance Abuse Treatment. (2014). Trauma-Informed Organizations. In Trauma-Informed Care in Behavioral Health Services. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK207204/

Institute on Trauma and Trauma-Informed Care. (2021). Trauma-Informed Organizational Change Manual. University at Buffalo School of Social Work. https://libguides.wilmu.edu/ld.php?content_id=64557459

Nyla’s Developing Leaders Program. (n.d.). Six Things You Can Do to be Trauma-Informed at Your Library. Retrieved April 14, 2025, from https://libguides.wilmu.edu/ld.php?content_id=65240852

SAMHSA’s Trauma and Justice Strategic Initiative. (2014). SAMHSA’s Concept of Trauma and Guidance for a Trauma-Informed Approach. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. https://library.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/sma14-4884.pdf

Dudak, L. (2023, February 14). Working Toward Wellness: Exploring Trauma-Informed Librarianship. Library Journal. https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/Working-Toward-Wellness-Exploring-Trauma-Informed-Librarianship

Eades, R. B. (2020, April 17). Implementing a Trauma-Informed Approach. Public Libraries Online. https://publiclibrariesonline.org/2020/04/implementing-a-trauma-informed-approach/

Hagelin, K. (2020, June 23). Moving Towards Healing: A Trauma-Informed Librarianship Primer. ACRLog. https://acrlog.org/2020/06/23/moving-towards-healing-a-trauma-informed-librarianship-primer/

Halper, A. (2020, October 28). Trauma-Informed Supervision: Building Strong Relationships and Organizations. Relias. https://www.relias.com/blog/trauma-informed-supervision

Roos, C. (2022, July 18). Library Work Has a Trauma Problem—Can It Be Fixed? ALSC Blog. https://www.alsc.ala.org/blog/2022/07/library-work-has-a-trauma-problem-can-it-be-fixed/

Urban Library Trauma Study. (2021, January 5). Urban Librarians Unite. https://urbanlibrariansunite.org/ults/

Idaho Commission for Libraries. (2020, November 23). Info2Go! Self-Care During a Pandemic, Part 2 (CC). [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4nrXvR2gg-E

Network of the National Library of Medicine. (2021, Feb 3.) Trauma-Informed Approach in Libraries. [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4OZWEKjAuOU

Network of the National Library of Medicine. (2022, June 6). Trauma in the Library: Findings about PTSD among Library Staff & Methods for Trauma-Informed Care. [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tolSSB_7XiE

South Central Regional Library Council. (2023, June 6.) Trauma-Informed Librarianship, Part 1: Essentials for Library Users. [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UkBTXzg96To

Wedderman, A. (2025, April 14). Creating a Trauma-Informed Library. Libraries Learn. https://www.librarieslearn.org/creating-a-trauma-informed library

Hagelin, K. (Host). (2023--present). Healing is the Best Revenge [Audio podcast]. https://open.spotify.com/show/1dkfjZOZOxeUDkJMZascTt

Hughes, K. (Host). (2022, May 3). A Trauma-Informed Framework for Supporting Library Patrons (No. 53) [Audio podcast episode]. In FYI: The Public Libraries Podcast. https://soundcloud.com/publiclibrariesonline/fyi-53-a-trauma-informed-framework-for-supporting-library-patrons