NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To make it easier to search across institutional repositories, NDLTD has initiated a project to harvest metadata from university electronic theses and dissertations. Electronic theses and dissertations are harvested monthly from Canadian universities.
OATD currently indexes almost 3.5 million graduate-level theses and dissertations that are freely available to download and read right now. To the extent possible, they leave out closed-access and embargoed ETDs.
Good source for U.S. and Canadian theses. International searchable index of dissertations and theses. More than 70,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the Proquest database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full Text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
OAIster is a union catalog of over 30 million records representing open access digital resources from over 1,500 institutions. OAIster is useful for searching multiple online archives for theses and dissertations simultaneously.
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximize the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. There are approximately 380,000 records in this database relating to theses awarded by over 120 institutions. Around 120,000 of these also provide access to the full text thesis, either via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution’s own repository. Of the remaining 260,000 records dating back to at least 1800, three quarters are available to be ordered for scanning through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility.
Search 800,000 doctoral dissertations (including those of Albert Einstein, Dag Hammarskjold, and other Nobel laureates) from universities outside the U.S. and Canada. CRL acquired the majority of the collection through deposit from member libraries. CRL continues to acquire about 5,000 titles per year from major universities through demand purchase and deposit.