An index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance. The database contains full text for more than 140 periodicals and 300 monographs.
The most important index covering literature, languages, linguistics, folklore and film. Contains over 2.3 million records and annually indexes over 70,000 journal articles, books, Web sites, and dissertations. and other formats. Coverage from 1926 to the present.
Includes the following titles: Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre, The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature, The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, The Oxford Companion to English Literature, etc.
Over 1 million full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines, critical essays, topic overviews, biographies and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works and literary movements.
Contains interviews with key figures in theatre history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist actor trainers from around the world; unique footage direct from the legendary practitioners themselves; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions; and documentaries previously unavailable to global audiences. The video material spans more than fifty years of documented work direct from renowned practitioners and specialists, and ranges across the entire spectrum of theatre topics.
The book covers the key themes and methods that are current in theatre history research, with a particular focus on expanding the object of study to include engagement with theatre and performance practices and the development of theatre histories around the world.
Acting, direction, stagecraft, theatre architecture and design, the extraordinary evolution of dramatic literature here is an all-embracing and richly illustrated history, global in scope and ranging from the ancient origins of the theatre in the choral hymns sung around the altar of Dionysus to the fascinating variety of forms that it has taken in our own age.
Designed both to prepare and inspire students to become lifelong audience members, if not actual participants in theatre. Highlights the latest processes, techniques, and technologies in theatrical design and production.