Reference Sources
A good starting point for all research, references sources provide an overview of research topics and historical context, identify key events and people, and often include a short bibliography of important books and articles for further reading. Reference books and online sources include specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, companions, and biographical resources.
Encyclopedias & Companions
The Routledge Companion to Theatre and Performance by Publication Date: 2024What is theatre? What is performance? What connects them and how are they different? How have they been shaped by events, people, companies, practices and ideas in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries? And where are they heading next? The Routledge Companion to Theatre and Performance offers some answers to these big questions. This third edition has been updated to now include over 160 entries, with all entries updated and new topics added.
The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance by Publication Date: 2010Based on the celebrated two-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, this compact Companion features more than 2,000 up-to-date entries encompassing drama and musical, opera, dance, radio, and non-dramatic performances including circuses and parades.
Key Concepts in Drama and Performance by Publication Date: 2010An invaluable companion which enables the reader to acquire and understand a vocabulary for discussion and critical thinking on all aspects of the subject. The clear explanations of the concepts support students in their practical and theoretical explorations of the subjects and offer insights for research and reflective writing.
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre (Print and eBook) by Publication Date: 1994In six outstanding volumes that document artistic development all over the world, country by country, region by region. International and in depth, WECT's coverage includes playwriting, music theatre, dance theatre, theatre for young audiences, puppet theatre, design, architecture and developments in theatre technology, theatre training, criticism and scholarship.
Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada by Publication Date: 2002300 leading Canadianists look at literature in Canada from a variety of perspectives in over 2000 entries. Extensive cross-referencing, a cultural chronology, supplementary index, and suggestions for further reading make this encyclopedia the most complete and accessible reference guide to Canadian literature in print.
Online Reference Sources
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes the following titles: Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre, The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature, The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, The Oxford Companion to English Literature, etc. Search Tips: Use the search box to search by names or keywords. Then use the left side menu to Narrow Your Choices. Or browse using the Subject link at the top left of the page and select Performing arts
- Oxford bibliographies online This link opens in a new windowCombines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia with a selective list of bibliographic citations, supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult by academic experts in the field.
- Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis Literary Sources) This link opens in a new windowOver 1 million full-text articles from scholarly journals & literary magazines, critical essays, topic overviews, biographies, & more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
- North American Theatre Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies.
Specialized Reference Sources
