BUSINESS MATH, 17E provides comprehensive coverage of personal and business-related mathematics. In addition to reviewing the basic operations of arithmetic, students are prepared to understand and manage their personal finances, as well as grasp the fundamentals of business finances. Basic math skills are covered in a step-by-step manner, building confidence in users before they try it alone. Spreadsheet applications are available on the Data Activities CD, and a simulation activity begins every chapter. Chapters are organized into short lessons for ease of instruction and include algebra connections, group and class activities, communication skills, and career spotlights.
Survival Math for Marketers is a simple and fun solution to the age-old problem of a lack of mathematical knowledge among marketing professionals. Many are former English, psychology, or science graduates who have become responsible for advertising, promotion, and sales in their organizations. Without a solid grounding in accounting, finance, mathematics, or economics, they often find themselves frustrated and confused by this unfamiliar world. This book provides an introduction to the underlying mathematical concepts in marketing and management in terms accessible to students of all levels. Weiglin also explains the relevant non-mathematical issues, such as price sensitivity, product distribution, and sales estimates, and provides the tools necessary to fully understand the basics of each. Presented in an irreverent, conversational style, this book includes numerous real-world examples and illustrations that gently introduce the reader to the important mathematical concepts behind marketing and management. Intended for students and professionals of all levels, Survival Math for Marketers is a fun, easy-to-read introduction to the world of business math.
A former Wall Street quant sounds an alarm on the mathematical models that pervade modern life and threaten to rip apart our social fabric. We live in the age of the algorithm. Increasingly, the decisions that affect our lives - where we go to school, whether we get a car loan, how much we pay for health insurance - are being made not by humans, but by mathematical models. In theory, this should lead to greater fairness: everyone is judged according to the same rules, and bias is eliminated. But as Cathy O'Neil reveals in this urgent and necessary book, the opposite is true. The models being used today are opaque, unregulated, and uncontestable, even when they're wrong. Most troubling, they reinforce discrimination. Models are propping up the lucky and punishing the downtrodden, creating a "toxic cocktail for democracy." Welcome to the dark side of Big Data. Tracing the arc of a person's life, O'Neil exposes the black box models that shape our future, both as individuals and as a society. These "weapons of math destruction" score teachers and students, sort résumés, grant (or deny) loans, evaluate workers, target voters, set parole, and monitor our health. O'Neil calls on modelers to take more responsibility for their algorithms and on policy makers to regulate their use. But in the end, it's up to us to become more savvy about the models that govern our lives. This important book empowers us to ask the tough questions, uncover the truth, and demand change.
With the immediacy of today's NASDAQ close and the timeless power of a Greek tragedy, The Quants is at once a masterpiece of explanatory journalism, a gripping tale of ambition and hubris, and an ominous warning about Wall Street's future. In March of 2006, four of the world's richest men sipped champagne in an opulent New York hotel. They were preparing to compete in a poker tournament with million-dollar stakes, but those numbers meant nothing to them. They were accustomed to risking billions. On that night, these four men and their cohorts were the new kings of Wall Street. Muller, Griffin, Asness, and Weinstein were among the best and brightest of a new breed, the quants. Over the prior twenty years, this species of math whiz - technocrats who make billions not with gut calls or fundamental analysis but with formulas and high-speed computers - had usurped the testosterone-fueled, kill-or-be-killed risk-takers who'd long been the alpha males the world's largest casino. The quants helped create a digitized money-trading machine that could shift billions around the globe with the click of a mouse. Few realized, though, that in creating this unprecedented machine, men like Muller, Griffin, Asness and Weinstein had sowed the seeds for history's greatest financial disaster. Drawing on unprecedented access to these four number-crunching titans, The Quants tells the inside story of what they thought and felt in the days and weeks when they helplessly watched much of their net worth vaporize - and wondered just how their mind-bending formulas and genius-level IQ's had led them so wrong, so fast.
The Freakonomics of math - a math-world superstar unveils the hidden beauty and logic of the world and puts its power in our hands. The math we learn in school can seem like a dull set of rules, laid down by the ancients and not to be questioned. In How Not to Be Wrong, Jordan Ellenberg shows us how terribly limiting this view is: math isn't confined to abstract incidents that never occur in real life, but rather touches everything we do - the whole world is shot through with it. Math allows us to see the hidden structures underneath the messy and chaotic surface of our world. It's a science of not being wrong, hammered out by centuries of hard work and argument. Armed with the tools of mathematics, we can see through to the true meaning of information we take for granted: How early should you get to the airport? What does "public opinion" really represent? Why do tall parents have shorter children? Who really won Florida in 2000? And how likely are you, really, to develop cancer? How Not to Be Wrong presents the surprising revelations behind all of these questions and many more, using the mathematician's method of analyzing life and exposing the hard-won insights of the academic community to the layman--minus the jargon. Ellenberg chases mathematical threads through a vast range of time and space, from the everyday to the cosmic. Ellenberg pulls from history as well as from the latest theoretical developments to provide those not trained in math with the knowledge they need.
This book is a review of the analytical methods required in most of the quantitative courses taught at MBA programs. Students with no technical background, or who have not studied mathematics since college or even earlier, may easily feel overwhelmed by the mathematical formalism that is typical of economics and finance courses. These students will benefit from a concise and focused review of the analytical tools that will become a necessary skill in their MBA classes. The objective of this book is to present the essential quantitative concepts and methods in a self-contained, non-technical, and intuitive way.
Is there a secret formula for getting rich? For going viral? For deciding how long to stick with your current job, Netflix series, or even relationship? This book is all about the equations that make our world go round. Ten of them, in fact. They are integral to everything from investment banking to betting companies and social media giants. And they can help you to increase your chance of success, guard against financial loss, live more healthfully, and see through scaremongering. With wit and clarity, mathematician David Sumpter shows that it isn't the technical details that make these formulas so successful. It is the way they allow mathematicians to view problems from a different angle - a way of seeing the world that anyone can learn. Empowering and illuminating, The Ten Equations shows how math really can change your life.
A celebrated mathematician explores how math helps us make sense of the unpredictable. We would like to believe we can know things for certain. We want to be able to figure out who will win an election, if the stock market will crash, or if a suspect definitely committed a crime. But the odds are not in our favor. Life is full of uncertainty - indeed, scientific advances indicate that the universe might be fundamentally inexact - and humans are terrible at guessing. When asked to predict the outcome of a chance event, we are almost always wrong. Thankfully, there is hope. As award-winning mathematician Ian Stewart reveals, over the course of history, mathematics has given us some of the tools we need to better manage the uncertainty that pervades our lives. From forecasting, to medical research, to figuring out how to win Let's Make a Deal, Do Dice Play God? is a surprising and satisfying tour of what we can know, and what we never will.
For half a century, more than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them study faster, learn better, and get top grades. Now Schaum's celebrates its 50th birthday with a brand-new look, a new format with hundreds of practice problems, and completely updated information to conform to the latest developments in every field of study. Schaum's Outline of Mathematics for Liberal Arts Majors helps students understand basic concepts and offer extra practice on such topics as logic, truth tables, axiom statements, consumer mathematics, probability and counting techniques, the real number system, and more. Each chapter offers clear concise explanations of topics and include hundreds of practice problems with step-by-step solutions.
Perform data analysis with R quickly and efficiently with more than 275 practical recipes in this expanded second edition. The R language provides everything you need to do statistical work, but its structure can be difficult to master. These task-oriented recipes make you productive with R immediately. Solutions range from basic tasks to input and output, general statistics, graphics, and linear regression. Each recipe addresses a specific problem and includes a discussion that explains the solution and provides insight into how it works. If you're a beginner, R Cookbook will help get you started. If you're an intermediate user, this book will jog your memory and expand your horizons. You'll get the job done faster and learn more about R in the process. Create vectors, handle variables, and perform basic functions. Simplify data input and output. Tackle data structures such as matrices, lists, factors, and data frames. Work with probability, probability distributions, and random variables. Calculate statistics and confidence intervals and perform statistical tests. Create a variety of graphic displays. Build statistical models with linear regressions and analysis of variance (ANOVA). Explore advanced statistical techniques, such as finding clusters in your data.
Scientists have proven that stories make the brain light up in ways no other form of communication does. Using story frameworks as a communication device for data will help make your recommendations stick and be acted on. Organizations use data to identify problems or opportunities. The actions others may need to take today from your insights in data could reverse or improve the trajectory of your future data. So, communicating data well, drives very important outcomes. Even though most roles depend on data, communicating well is the top skill gap in roles using data. The essential skill for today's leaders (and aspiring leaders) is shaping data into narratives that make a clear recommendation and inspire others to act. Almost every role today uses data for decision making. As you grow in your career, you can become a strategic advisor and ultimately a leader using data to shape a future where humanity and organizations flourish. Duarte and her team have culled through thousands of data slides of her clients in technology, finance, healthcare, and consumer products, to decode how the highest performing brands communicate with data. DataStory teaches you the most effective ways to turn your data into narratives that blend the power of language, numbers, and graphics. You'll learn how to transform numbers into narratives to drive action. It will help you communicate data in a way that creates outcomes both inside and outside your own organization. It will help you earn a reputation as a trusted advisor, which will advance your career. Nancy Duarte is one of the preeminent storytellers in American business and the acclaimed author of Slide:ology,