Online Databases
Includes the general Japanese-language encyclopedia Nihon daihyakka zensho 日本大百科全書 as well as the English-language Nipponica Plus encyclopedia. Also offers the full-length Japanese-language Nikkoku 日本国語大辞典 dictionary as well as several translation dictionaries to English, European and East Asian Languages. In addition, the resource has Biographical Dictionaries 人名辞典, and access to kokushi daijiten 国史大辞典, one of the largest encyclopedias of Japanese history as well as several e-books.
- Gunsho RuijuThe Gunsho Ruiju series is a major collection of manuscripts from ancient through to the end of the early modern periods compiled under categories covering history, literature, religion, language, customs, art, music, cultivated arts, education, morality, legal codes, politics, economy, society and many other subjects.
Kanji Dictionaries
This online Kanji dictionary is within the JapanKnowledge database. Click on 個別 to the right of 字通 to access.
Online kanji dictionary operated by the Japan Kanji Aptitude Testing Foundation (公益財団法人日本漢字能力検定協会)
PL681.C5 M6 1994 Dai kanwa jiten is an authoritative and expansive character dictionary set by Morohashi Tetsuji (諸橋轍次).
PL677.5 .K36 2011
PL677.5 .K327 1992
PL677.5 .K338 1992
Japanese Dictionaries - Modern (国語辞典)
Japanese Dictionaries - Classical (古語辞典)
- 時代別国語大辞典. 上代編 Jidaibetsu kokugo daijiten. Jōdai hen byCall Number: PL685 .J48 1968Publication Date: 1968
Encyclopedias
- 国史大辞典 Kokushi daijiten byCall Number: DS833. K64Publication Date: 1979-1997Also available online through JapanKnowledge Plus
- 日本大百科全書（ニッポニカ） NipponicaOnline access through JapanKnowledge Plus
Biographical Dictionaries
Shintei sakka, shōsetsuka jinmei jiten 新訂作家・小説家人名事典
Call Number: PL723 .S325 2002
ISBN: 481691739X
Includes information on the lives of prominent Japanese authors (including poets) active between the end of World War II and 1975
- 日本人名大事典. 現代 Nihon jinmei daijiten. Gendai byCall Number: CT1832 .N48 1979 Suppl.Publication Date: 1979
Geographical References
- 現代日本地名よみかた大辞典 Gendai Nihon chimei yomikata daijiten byCall Number: DS805 .G39 1985Publication Date: 1985