Research Guides: Real Estate: Industry Overviews

Industry & Market Research Databases

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, books and videos related to business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Use for finding articles, case studies, and company and industry information.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text market research reports for Canadian, US and global industries. Reports cover industry structure, trends, competitive landscape and operating conditions.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Market research reports for consumer products, demographics, food, beverage, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and more. Includes reports from various sources, including Freedonia Focus, Packaged Facts and Kalorama.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
International statistical and market research reports for over 200 countries, covering consumer products and services, demographic and lifestyle reports and economic data.
Warc : World Advertising Research Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, reports and case studies on advertising. Includes advertising expenditure data. Can search by brand, advertiser, and agency.

Government

Canada Mortgage and Housing
Housing Market Information, Sustainability, Research Highlights, Mortgage-Backed Securities and Investments
Industry Canada. Canadian Industry Statistics: Real Estate (NAICS 531)
Establishments, company directories and SME Benchmarking
Statistics Canada. Real Estate Rental & Leasing & Property Management
US. Bureau of the Census. American Housing Survey
US. Dept. of Housing & Urban Development

Associations & Other Organizations

Canadian Real Estate Association / Info & Stats
Includes monthly stats and quarterly forecasts.
Natonal Association of Realtors

Using Google to find Government Resources

Did you know that you can limit your search in Google to government websites? Here are some examples.

Tip: Remember to try a few searches using different search words, to vary your results.

real estate site:gov.bc.ca
(adding site:gov.bc.ca searches BC government websites)
housing site:gc.ca
(adding site:gc.ca searches Canadian federal government websites)
residential construction site:.gov
(adding site:.gov searches US government websites)

Industry Codes

Some market research databases and websites organize business information using industry codes. The two industry classification systems you will come across most often are NAICS and SIC.

Example NAICS codes:

53 Real Estate and Rental and Leasing

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)