Research Guides: Philosophy: Digitized Primary Sources

Digitized Primary Sources: Discipline and Author Collections

Early English Books Online
Digital facsimile page images in their original printed editions of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. "Currently, Early English Books Online contains images of works by such authors as Malory, Spenser, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo. The database also includes musical exercises by Henry Purcell, novels by Aphra Behn, and prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and many other primary resources."

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Access is available to all residents within British Columbia via the Points to the Past Portal.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Includes "Science, technology and medicine, 1780-1925, Parts 1 and 2" with more than one million pages of journals, books, reports, and personal documents, covering every aspect of science.

Montaigne Project
Facsimile and text editions of Montaigne's Essais.
Philosource
Seven collections including Pre-Socratic, Socratic, Nietzsche, Wittgenstein and "the early modern age".
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks in many subject areas.

Past Masters This link opens in a new window
"Encompasses the world's largest collection of full text electronic editions in philosophy. The series also includes significant collections in political thought, religious studies, sociology, the history of science, economics, and classics. Original language texts are available in Latin, French, German, Danish and Dutch, aside from English and English translation."

Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek
National Library of Germany.
Europeana
Millions of digitized items from libraries, archives and museums across Europe.
Gallica
Two million digitized documents from the Bibliothèque nationale de France.