Research Guides: PharmD Study Guide: General Resources

Clinical Tools

CPS This link opens in a new window
Formerly RxTx and e-Therapeutics. Comprehensive drug information resource produced by the Canadian Pharmacists Association. Includes e-CPS and a drug interactions module.
LexiComp This link opens in a new window
Online access to Lexi-Drugs monographs and interaction checker, AHFS Drug Information, Drug Facts and Comparisons and Trissell's IV Compatibility. Note: no access to UpToDate.
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice offers a step-by-step evidence-based approach to clinical problems throughout the patient journey. Includes access to Comorbidities tool and mobile app.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy This link opens in a new window
The full-text, online version of the 17th edition of the well-known medical textbook. Covers internal medicine, pediatrics, ophthalmology, gynecology, and numerous other specialties.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Psychiatric references and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, featuring DSM-5 and The American Journal of Psychiatry.

Dynamed
Includes overviews and drug therapy recommendations for various medical conditions, drug information, and a drug interaction checker.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Approximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, and a USMLE self-assessment tool and 50+ clinical cases.
LWW Health Library This link opens in a new window
Selected collections include Pharmacy, Exercise Science, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech Language Hearing and Medical Education. See under More to find links to a specific specialty.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
Additional features, including a presentation maker, the ability to download PDF versions of ebook chapters, customize patient handouts or save content in a personal profile, are available to users who create a free account. Click 'Register' at the top right of the ClinicalKey landing page to create a free account.
Books@OVID This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text e-books for medicine, nursing and pharmacy. Includes The ICU Book, Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, and the Joanna Briggs Institute series on Synthesis Science in Healthcare.

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Premier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
International (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.
CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
Key database in nursing and allied health.
PsycInfo (includes full text from PsycArticles) This link opens in a new window
Covers psychology and the psychological aspects of various other disciplines. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.
EBM Reviews (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
One-stop searching of 7 evidence-based medicine databases in the Cochrane Library.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.