Research Guides: Obstetrics & Gynaecology: Drug Information

Pregnancy & Lactation

LactMed
Contains information on drugs which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.

NatMed Pro
An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies

UpToDate Lexidrug
Online access to Lexi-Drugs monographs and interaction checker, AHFS Drug Information, Martindale, Drug Facts and Comparisons and Trissell's IV Compatibility. Note: no access to UpToDate. To browse an individual database such as Martindale, choose More Clinical Tools > Indexes.
CPS
Formerly RxTx and e-Therapeutics. Comprehensive drug information resource produced by the Canadian Pharmacists Association. Includes e-CPS, Therapeutic Choices, minor ailments content and a drug interactions module.
Stockley's Drug Interactions
Contains data on over 4500 drug interactions, including interactions with food, drinks, herbal medicines and pesticides. 11th edition

Health Canada: Drug Product Database (DPD)
Provides trustworthy information on approximately 15,000 active and discontinued prescription drugs marketed in Canada.

AccessMedicine
Provides ~1000 monographs listed by brand name, generic name, and drug class. Patient handouts on drugs also available.
ClinicalKey
Drug monographs from Clinical Pharmacology Gold Standard Drug Database.
Additional features, including a presentation maker, the ability to download PDF versions of ebook chapters, customize patient handouts or save content in a personal profile, are available to users who create a free account. Click 'Register' at the top right of the ClinicalKey landing page to create a free account.

NatMed Pro
An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies
PEN (Practice Based Evidence in Nutrition)
Evidence-based information on nutrition and dietetics produced by the Dietitians of Canada.

SciFinder-n
Access to Chemical Abstracts 1907-present. Use For: chemistry and chemical engineering, biochemistry, biotechnology, electrochemistry, metallurgy and materials science and pharmacology.
Merck Index Online
Online version of The Merck Index: searchable database of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.

DrugBank
The DrugBank database is "a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information."
PubChem
Free chemical information on small organic molecules, linked with PubMed/Entrez data.