It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Premier database containing over 24 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.
Summon is a single access point to find most of the UBC Library collections including: print books, ebooks, scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, theses and dissertations, digitized items, conference proceedings, and images.
Bacteriologists from all levels of expertise and within all specialties rely on this Manual as one of the most comprehensive and authoritative works. Since publication of the first edition of the Systematics, the field has undergone revolutionary changes, leading to a phylogenetic classification of prokaryotes based on sequencing of the small ribosomal subunit. The list of validly named species has more than doubled since publication of the first edition, and descriptions of over 2000 new and realigned species are included in this new edition along with more in-depth ecological information about individual taxa and extensive introductory essays by leading authorities in the field.
Includes a description of the Gammaproteobacteria (1203 pages, 222 figures, and 300 tables). This large taxon includes many well known medically and environmentally important groups. Especially notable are the Enterobacteriaceae, Aeromonas, Beggiatoa, Chromatium, Legionella, Nitrococcus, Oceanospirillum, Pseudomonas, Rickettsiella, Vibrio, Xanthomonas and 155 additional genera.
One of the most authoritative works in bacterial taxonomy, this resource has been extensively revised. This five volume second edition has been reorganized along phylogenetic lines to reflect the current state of prokaryotic taxonomy. In addition to the detailed treatments provided for all of the validly named and well-known species of prokaryotes, this edition includes new ecological information and more extensive introductory chapters.
Includes a revised taxonomic outline for the phyla Bacteroidetes, Planctomycetes, Chlamydiae, Spirochetes, Fibrobacteres, Fusobacteria, Acidobacteria, Verrucomicrobia, Dictyoglomi, and Gemmatimonadetes based upon the SILVA project as well as a description of more than 153 genera in 29 families. Includes many medically important taxa.
Includes a revised taxonomic outline for the Actinobacteria or the high G+C Gram positives is based upon the SILVA project as well as a description of greater than 200 genera in 49 families. Includes many medically and industrially important taxa.