Core Databases
The following databases provide access to the core literature in medical education. For a comprehensive list of database and indexes that contain health-related literature see the Health and Biomedical Databases page.
- ERIC (EBSCO interface) This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive education index, covering nearly 1000 journals, primarily American. Also indexes ERIC documents, including conferences, curricula, reports etc. ERIC (EBSCO) includes many links to full text.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
- EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowInternational (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.
More Databases
- PsycINFO (includes full text from PsycARTICLES)Covers psychology education as well as medical education more broadly.
Free Resources
Use resources in this section to access journal articles that are freely available to the public.
- Free Medical JournalsUse these links to open-access medical education journals to find articles which are freely available to the public. Includes journals devoted to education in physiology, dentistry, and pharmacology.
- BMJ (Medical Education specialty)Some articles in the British Medical Journal are freely available to the public.
- CMAJThe Canadian Medical Association Journal has published a number of articles on medical education.