Boxes contain the actual content of a guide. Read on for quick tips and definitions of different box types. Check out the subpages for more information on some of the more complex box types.
To add a new box to a page, click Add Box at the bottom of the content column (Column 1). The popup window will give you tabs for Create New Box or Reuse Existing Box.
If you want to create a new box, enter the box name and select the box type and position on the page. You can move boxes around later.
If you want to reuse an existing box, go to Reuse Existing Box and choose the box you want to reuse from the guide where it currently exists. Remember to check the Copy box in order to edit the new box content or leave it unchecked if you want to be able to update all copies of the box from the original box location.
A standard box will allow you to add the different content types within it, including Rich Text/HTML, databases, links, media/widgets, books from the catalog, documents/files and more.
Tabbed boxes combine several boxes, which can be displayed by using the tabs.
A gallery box allows you to create a customized slideshow.
Add your own and/or other users' profile boxes onto the guide using this box. Profile boxes do not allow any other content to be added, but box titles can be edited.
You can move boxes around on a page, or even to another page, after you've already created them. To move a box, click the dropdown arrow next to Page (with gearboxes) at the top of the page, and select Boxes under Reorder/Move. Click and drag your boxes to move them.
Refer to Springshare's FAQ on Adding boxes to your pages for more detailed information.
To add content to your boxes, click on Add/Reorder at the bottom of your box, and select the content type you prefer. You can add more than one type of content to a box; simply click Add/Reorder again and you will see a dotted line in the editor where the new content is located.
Rich Text/HTML will open a text editor.
Database will bring up a search for a database in our A-Z list. This list was imported from our Indexes and Databases list, along with short descriptions. When users click on the database link, they will be redirected to the login page for that database.
Add Link will allow you to create a new link or reuse an existing link. Please do not use this content type for databases. We recommend you reuse existing links where possible.
Media/Widget prompts for Embed Code, for example for YouTube videos. You can also search for widgets to reuse, such as the AskAway widget.
Use Book from the Catalog to create a new book or reuse on from another guide, including bibliographic information and cover art. The catalog permalink will need to be added manually.
Document/File will allow you to upload a file.
Refer to Springshare's FAQ on Adding content items (assets) to your boxes for more detailed information.