Legend
limited to UBC students, faculty & staff (Connect to Library Resources or Library Access Browser Extension)
limited to faculty & students in Peter A. Allard School of Law at UBC
Law Library at Allard Hall
Legal Periodicals
Locating a current law journal article on the topic you are researching can be invaluable. Journal articles tend to focus on narrower legal issues, and the authors often gather together all of the relevant law pertaining to the subject-matter being discussed. Articles are especially useful for commentary on emerging areas of the law, and areas undergoing change. To find journal articles, use one or more of the following legal periodical indexes (All online indexes can be accessed via the Law Library homepage by clicking on Legal Periodicals Indexes):
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature via Westlaw Edge Canada's LawSource• Provides thorough coverage of Canadian law journal articles
• Also includes: case comments & annotations for more than 200 Canadian legal and law-related periodicals
• Indexes books, individual essays from edited collections, federal & provincial government publications, and publications of law faculties & legal research institutes & associations, including theses
• Also available via Westlaw Edge Canada or Lexis+ accounts.
• A print version is available at LAW LIBRARY Reference Room (level 2): KE1 .I532. - Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature (Scott Index)Formerly the Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature (1998-)
• Covers over 20,000 texts including articles published in more than a hundred Canadian law journals, legal articles published in journals from related fields, texts from legal conferences, and case comments.
• Note: Website is in French, but can search for English material here.
• Print version at LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE8 .I53 (1961-2006) provides references to some law-related articles not found in ICLL and includes Author/Title Index, Table of Cases and Book Review Index
- LegalTrac This link opens in a new window• Indexes articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law & bar association journals, & legal newspapers on US Federal and State Cases, Laws and Government Regulations, Legal Practice
• Provides links to some full text & includes selective coverage of British Commonwealth, European Union and international law journals
• List of indexed publications