Legend
limited to UBC students, faculty & staff (Connect to Library Resources or Library Access Browser Extension)
Law Library at Allard Hall
Finding Cases
To find cases dealing with the amount of money courts award for various injuries, you can use either electronic or print resources. You will want to focus on recent cases and preferably those from B.C.
Electronic Resources
The Continuing Legal Education (C.L.E.) database contains decisions from the B.C. Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, and selective cases from the Provincial Court. While full text is provided for most of the decisions, only digests are provided for the Provincial Court cases. The database is current and contains cases since 1996.
The database is organized by subject matter. To find cases on a specific type of injury, connect to CLE Online and follow these steps:
● Click on Case Digest - Archive on the top toolbar or at the bottom of the list of UBC's subscriptions.
● Click on Personal Injury under Browse by Practice Area
● Click on Quantum assessment under Browse by Practice Area. At this stage you will find a page with a list of injury types - whiplash, knee, leg, etc. Click on any of these to find digests of cases. To see the full text, if available, click on the Full Text link.
Alternatively, you can use the search bar on the top left to enter your own search terms. Remember to narrow down the results by choosing Case Digests under Filter by Content Type and Personal Injury - Quantum assessment under Filter by Practice Areas.
Print Resources
- Personal Injury Damage Assessments in British ColumbiaLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KEB291.A48 B87 1978
Use this source to find B.C. decisions on all types of damage awards. Refer to the Table of Contents at the beginning of any of the three volumes to determine where to locate digests of cases on a specific injury. The digest provides summaries of the facts and awards, the names of the parties, the court level, and citation, if available. - Goldsmith's Damages for Personal Injury and Death in CanadaLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE1237 .G64
This multi-volume set contains digests of cases from across Canada. The digests are arranged in yearly volumes by type of injury. Check the recent volumes to find the most current cases.
To locate other relevant cases, look in the Consolidated Tables of Damages by injury type. These tables include the names of cases, citations, and summaries of awards. Because each case is numbered, you can use that number to find the digest of the case in the main yearly volumes. - Apportionment of Liability in British ColumbiaLAW LIBRARY level 3: KEB294.3.A8 A66
This two-volume source digests cases dealing with the establishment of fault in personal injury cases. While it does not deal specifically with quantum of damages, the cases illustrate how courts assess fault.