Citational Politics & Relations
"A number of Indigenous feminists and other scholars of colour have advocated powerfully for a more mindful and ethical consideration of our citational practices in academia. I think here especially of the work of Audra Simpson (Mohawk) and Jodi Byrd (Chickasaw), Sara Ahmed's feministkilljoys blog, and the Citation Practices Challenge by Eve Tuck (Unangax), K. Wayne Yang, and Rubén Gaztambide-Fernández—and especially that we not continue to replicate the closed circuit of white heteropatriarchy in affirming the same group of voices over and over again." (From Why Indigenous Literatures Matter by Daniel Heath Justice).
- "Citational Relations" in Why Indigenous Literatures Matter [e-book]Includes a Bibliographic Essay in place of a conventional bibliography. Daniel Heath Justice writes that he "wanted the bibliography not to be merely a list of sources, but a conversation about the embraided influences of our words, ideas, and voices" (2018, p. 242).
- The Politics of Citation: Is the Peer Review Process Biased Against Indigenous Academics? (CBC)CBC Radio interview published February 25, 2018. Kyle Powys Whyte (Potawatomi, Michigan State University faculty) and Sarah Hunt (Kwakwaka'wakw, UBC faculty) identify problems with dominant citational politics.
Citing Treaties
- Bora Laskin Law LibraryA guide to resources for treaty research prepared by John Bolan, Bora Laskin Law Library.
- Georgetown Law Library - Treaty ResearchThis guide describes resources and methods for locating and updating treaties of the United States and other countries.
- UBC Law: Legal Citation GuideGuide to help with legal citation for the most common situations.
- John Marshall Law SchoolInternational Legal Research: Citing to Treaties: this Guide covers essential print and electronic resources for researching international and foreign law.
Citing Archival Materials
- Library and Archives CanadaFor guidance on how to cite archival sources.
Indigenous Citation & Style Guides
Elements of Indigenous Style: A Guide for Writing By and About Indigenous Peoples [e-book] by Publication Date: 2018Also available from X̱wi7x̱wa Library in print format.
So You Want to Write about American Indians? by Publication Date: 2005Also available from X̱wi7x̱wa Library in print format.- Understanding Peoples on Their Own Terms: A Rationale and Proposal for an Aboriginal Style Guide [thesis] byCall Number: PC Y68 U53 1999Publication Date: 1999
General Resources at X̱wi7x̱wa
- The Chicago Manual of StyleCall Number: AWS C45 C45 2010The Sixteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription website. The same content from The Chicago Manual of Style is in both versions.
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological AssociationCall Number: AWS A62 P83 2009
- The Little, Brown Handbook byCall Number: AWC F69 L58
- The Canadian Writer's Handbook byCall Number: AWC M47 C36