Research Guides: Indigenous Environmental and Science Resources: Articles

Databases

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Covers the history & culture of Native North Americans including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, & literacy. Includes books, essays, journal articles, and government documents.
Informit Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection includes journals, reports and monographs from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Canada, the US and the Pacific.
iPortal : Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new window
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) has over 25,000 records describing electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photos, archival resources, and maps relevant to Indigenous studies and communities.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.

How to Search Article Databases

First do a search for the population using subject headings and keywords.
Next search for your other concepts.
Finally combine using AND.

Useful population keywords might include:

Aboriginal
Indigenous
"First Nation*"
Inuit*
Metis
"Native American*"
"American Indian*"

Note that the asterisk at the end of a term will search for singular and plural word forms. You might combine your population keywords with geographic location terms, such as Canada or British Columbia.

Many databases have subject headings you can also use in your search to find more relevant results. Please be aware that often the subject headings in databases use outdated and potentially offensive terminology.