Images - Finding & Using

Note: Image and copyright permissions will vary across these resources, so it is important to read the image use guidelines or copyright policies on each site.

Anthropology

• Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
  An online collection of digitized images and audio materials collected by the African Studies Program at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
• Edwards S. Curtis' The North American Indian
  The complete work of Edward S. Curtis' The North American Indian, including all photogravures and texts.
• Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative
  A joint initiative between UCLA and the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, this searchable database contains photographs and illustrations of cuneiform tablets from 3350 BC to the end of the Christian era.

Geography

• American Memory from the Library of Congress - Maps
  A database of historical and contemporary maps from selected Library of Congress collections.
• David Rumsey Map Collection
  Cartography Associates' digital library of rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania.

History

• Library and Archives Canada - Search the Collection
  Offers a visual history of Canada and Canadians. Search for specific terms using the format type 'images' from the drop-down menu.
• Library of Congress - Digital Collections
  Access to digitized American historical materials and includes images, maps, manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
• A Summons to Comradeship: World War I and II Posters and Postcards
  A collection of graphic materials from around the world relating to World War I and II.
• Travelers in the Middle East Archive (TIMEA)
  A collection of digitized photographs, illustrations, and maps depicting Western interactions in the Middle East in the 19th and early 20th Centuries.

Theatre

• Global Performing Arts Database (GloPAD)
  A database of over 4,500 images, videos and audio recordings related to performing arts around the world.

Note: Image and copyright permissions will vary across these resources. It is important to read the image use guidelines or copyright policies on each site.

Business

• Ad*Access
  Duke University's digital collection of historical newspaper and magazine advertisements from the U.S. and Canada produced from 1911-1955.

Education

• Primary Sources for K-12 Educators 
  A guide for K-12 educators seeking digital primary sources to use in their classrooms, including a robust section on images.
• Pics4Learning
  A "copyright-friendly" collection of images for use by teachers and students in education.

Engineering

• The Earthquake Engineering Online Archive
  A database of significant, publicly-funded research and development literature, photographs, data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering hosted by the National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley. Select "images" from the search for filter under the keyword search box.
• Institution of Civil Engineers - Engineering Image Library
  Historic engineering photos, illustrations and drawings from the Institution of Civil Engineers (London, UK), available to download. Search a number of different collections and categories.
• Mechanical Engineering Image Collection
  Available through VADS (formerly the Visual Arts Data Service), a service of the Library at the University for the Creative Arts (UCA) in the UK. Offers images covering topics from railways to manufacturing, spanning the late 1800's to the late 1900's from the archives and historic book collection of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).
• Structurae [en]
  A database with images of bridges, buildings, portraits, and products relating to structural and civil engineering, developed and maintained by Nicolas Janberg, a structural and bridge engineer.