Industry codes
Some market research databases and websites organize business information using industry codes.
The two industry classification systems you will come across most often are NAICS and SIC. Both are hierarchical, organized by broad industry categories, each divided into more specific industries.
Note: If you are researching a very specific or very new industry, it may not be included in these industry classification systems.
The following are links to the broad health sector NAICS codes under 62 - Health care and social assistance
-
621 - Ambulatory servicesIncludes services to ambulatory patients, such as out-patient services: doctors, dentists and other practitioners including mental health and allied health; labs; home health; other services.
-
622 - HospitalsIncludes general, psychiatric and substance use and specialty hospitals. Hospitals may also provide out-patient/ambulatory services.
-
623 - Nursing and residential care facilitiesFacilities providing various health and social services, with nursing as the main service. Includes residential facilities and community care facilities.
-
624 - Social assistanceDirect services to clients such as family services; community food, housing and emergency services; rehab services; child day-care services.
Industry & market research databases
-
ABI/INFORM CollectionABI/INFORM Collection is a comprehensive business database, which contains journals, business periodicals, dissertations, and country-and industry-focused reports.
-
BCC Research
Provides market analysis and forecasting on a wide range of major emerging technological and scientific developments in the industrial, pharmaceutical and high technology sectors worldwide.
-
Business Source UltimateProvides access to journal articles, books and videos related to business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Use for finding articles, case studies, and company and industry information.
-
eMarketerMarket research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.
-
FactivaSelect an industry under Companies/Markets to see a snapshot. Or, use the search builder and limit to an industry.
-
GartnerGartner, Inc. (NYSE: IT) is the world's leading information technology research and advisory company.
-
IBISWorld Industry ReportsContains full-text market research reports for Canadian, US and global industries. Reports cover industry structure, trends, competitive landscape and operating conditions.
-
MarketResearch.com AcademicMarket research reports for consumer products, demographics, food, beverage, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and more. Includes reports from various sources, including Freedonia Focus, Packaged Facts and Kalorama.
-
Passport GMIDInternational statistical and market research reports for over 200 countries, covering consumer products and services, demographic and lifestyle reports and economic data.
-
Statista
A simple to use statistics portal that integrates statistics from thousands of sources, on topics related to business, media, public policy, health and others.
Other sources
-
HealthcareYahoo! Finance, n.d.
-
Health care and social assistance industry profileWorkBC, n.d.
-
Healthcare sector: Industries defined and key statisticsInvestopedia, 2021
-
International health care system profilesThe Commonwealth Fund, 2020
