Searching Article Databases
Articles are specific in scope and can also provide information on current trends and issues. Article databases listed here are available through the library and allow you to search hundreds of journals, magazines or newspapers for information on a variety of topics.
- Research TipsRefer to our Research Tips guide for for examples of how to search article databases effectively, like using single words or short phrases.
Business Article Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowABI/INFORM Collection is a comprehensive business database, which contains journals, business periodicals, dissertations, and country-and industry-focused reports.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowBusiness articles, market research reports, company SWOT analyses.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowCanadian journals and magazines.
- Emerald Publishing This link opens in a new windowArticles on management strategy, leadership, marketing, human resource management.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowGlobal business and industry news service. Also find company profiles, including downloadable financials (5 yrs) and stock quotes (2 yrs).
Technavio industry reports can be found by typing: rst=technv AND your industry keyword - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowA simple way to search selected scholarly literature, with links for UBC users to fulltext.
- Nexis UniArticles and full text news, government, legal, finance and business information services.
- Warc : World Advertising Research Center This link opens in a new windowArticles from leading advertising journals and unpublished papers, on communications, marketing methods, consumers.
Health Care Administration Databases
- CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowKey database in nursing and allied health.
- EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowInternational (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
- PubMed (1946 - present) This link opens in a new windowPremier database containing over 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
Cross-Disciplinary Database Searching
You can search more than one database at a time. For cross-disciplinary research in management and healthcare, a good combination of databases from EBSCO includes:
- AgeLine
- Biomedical Reference Collection
- Business Source Ultimate
- CINAHL Complete
- MEDLINE
Use this link to select EBSCO databases:
- EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new windowConnects to the general EBSCOhost page which allows you to select any one of the EBSCOhost databases to which the Library subscribes.
Questions to Ask
- Can the data I want be collected?
- Who would likely collect it?
- Does anyone collect it?
- Does anyone publish the data?
- Is there other relevant data to substitute for what I can't find?
- How can I break my topic into questions?
- What terminology is used for my topic?
- What are some synonyms for my topic?
- How can I rephrase my search to bring different items to the top of my results list?
- Will drop-down search boxes help limit my search by date, etc?
- Do I need to separate my search terms with "and" and "or"?
- Am I searching for data at too granular (ie, specific) a level?