Finding Journal Articles
You can search for your topic using Summon. You may wish to limit your search to Scholarly & Peer Review.
You can also search one of these specialized databases to find journal articles and grey literature (e.g. conference proceedings, government and NGO reports, theses & dissertations). They offer more functionality than Summon.
- CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new windowArticles, ebooks, and data sheets on agriculture, animal health, crop protection, forestry, global health, human nutrition, horticulture, and natural resources management. Includes Cab Abstracts & Global Health databases.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest academic search engine providing free searching to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports).
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
Tips for Searching
- Search for a phrase using quotation marks (e.g. "community forestry")
- Combine search terms with OR to expand a search (e.g. governance OR management)
- Combine search terms with AND to narrow a search (e.g. "community forestry" AND governance)
- Search variations of a word using truncation (e.g. forest* to search forest, forests, forestry)
- Proximity searching looks for a term within n number of words to another search term: NEAR/n. The operator can differ between databases and is not used in all databases so it is good to look up this option in the help or information page if you're not sure. (e.g. community NEAR/3 forest*)
- Build a search using the important concepts from your research question, creating search terms for each concept and combining with AND.
Hoyo del Cimarrón
Sinkhole in Huehuetenango, Guatemala - 2016
Credit: Gerson Tun. Source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/106344417@N08/32302096053
This work is available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.