Legend
limited to UBC students, faculty & staff (Connect to Library Resources or Library Access Browser Extension)
limited to faculty & students in Peter A. Allard School of Law at UBC
Criminal Procedure
A selective list of procedural materials follows:
Provincial Court of British Columbia
-
Barton & Peel, Criminal Procedure in Practice: A Manual for the Defence of Cases in Provincial Court, 2d ed.LAW LIBRARY level 3: KE9260 .B37 1983
Focuses on federal offences and provides a guide to the criminal justice system, from laying of charge to delivery of verdict and sentencing. -
CLE of BC, Provincial Court Criminal Hearings, 1985LAW LIBRARY level 3: KEB572.Z85 P76 1985
Taking the file, bail hearing, preparing for trial; the trial; and sentencing.
Supreme Court of British Columbia
-
Bouck et al., British Columbia Annual Criminal PracticeLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KEB535.4.A329 B68 [current year]
Provides annotations and case law examples for the Acts and Rules of all three levels of court. Gives up-to-date information on criminal practice in British Columbia. -
CLE of BC, Summary Conviction AppealsLAW LIBRARY level 3: KEB584.Z82 S85 1990
Pre-appeal procedures; grounds of appeal; post-appeal procedures; new Summary Conviction Appeal Rules. -
Scarisbrick, Summary Conviction Appeals in British Columbia: 1998
British Columbia Court of Appeal
-
McKinnon, Criminal Lawyer's Guide to Appellate Court PracticeLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9375 .M34 1997
Thorough guide that also reviews some substantive law.
General Texts
-
Atrens, Burns and Taylor, Criminal Procedure: Canadian Law and PracticeLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9260.A6 C74
Overview of the rules governing arrest, charging, trial and appeal. -
Bentley, Criminal Practice Manual: A Practical Guide to Handling Criminal CasesLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE8807.5 .B46 2000
Common problems and issues arising in the practice of criminal law. -
Delisle and Stuart, Learning Canadian Criminal Procedure, 11th ed.LAW LIBRARY level 3: KE9260 .D43 2013
Legal process from arrest, through trial, to the point of sentencing and appeals. -
Ewaschuk, Criminal Pleadings and Practice in Canada, 2d ed.LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9260 .E938 1987 & Online via Westlaw Edge Canada
Manual groups principles and rules for easy access. Civil areas re: jurisdiction, trials, evidence, contempt, the Charter, statutory interpretation and division of powers are also discussed. -
Gibson, Criminal Law: Evidence, Practice and ProcedureLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE8809 .G528
Provides step-by-step guidance to 60 evidentiary, procedural and practice topics. -
Libman, Libman on Regulatory Offences in CanadaLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE1277.A6 L52 2002
Guide to regulatory offences covering regulatory regimes, defenses, and Charter implications. -
Meyers, Criminal Lawyer's Commonplace BookLAW LIBRARY (level 3): KE9306 .M494
Designed for in-court use by defence counsel to address recurrent issues in criminal trials. -
Quigley, Procedure in Canadian Criminal Law, 2d ed.LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9260 .Q53 2005
Discussion of Charter and non-Charter aspects of criminal procedure. -
Salhany, Criminal Trial HandbookLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9260 .S243
Handbook for trial judges, Crown prosecutors, and defence counsel; discusses procedural and evidentiary problems that arise in criminal trials. -
Salhany, Canadian Criminal Procedure, 6th ed.LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9260 .S344 1994 & Online via Westlaw Edge Canada
Reference manual for the criminal law practitioner. -
Prowse, Working Manual of Criminal LawLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE8809 .P74
General reference book for various areas of criminal law.
Jury Trials
-
Der, The Jury: A Handbook of Law and ProcedureLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE8495 .D47
Provides procedural assistance for jury trials. -
Granger, The Criminal Jury Trial in CanadaLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9348 .G725 1996
States law on selected aspects of pre-trial and trial proceedings. -
Ferguson, CRIMJI: Canadian Criminal Jury Instructions, 4th ed.LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9350.A6 F474 2005
An indispensable reference featuring: instructions on trial procedures, evidence, and all major offences and defences. Extensively annotated with references and quotes from relevant case law.
Judicial Interim Release
-
Hamilton, Judicial Interim Release: Bail Manual, 4th ed.LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KEB572.7 .H245 1983
A review of laws relating to bail in British Columbia.
Motor Vehicle Offences
-
McLeod, Takach, & Segal, Breathalyzer Law in Canada, 4th ed.LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE2114 .M244 2009
Covers the prosecution and defence of drinking and driving offences. -
McLeod, Takach, and Segal, Criminal Code Driving Offences: Companion Text for Breathalyzer Law in CanadaLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE2114 .M245 1987
Companion text for Breathalyzer Law in Canada.
Sentencing
-
Clewley, Sentencing: The Practitioner's GuideLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9355 .S4674 & Online via Westlaw Edge Canada
Reviews the principles and considerations that underlie decisions on sentencing. -
Ferris, Sentencing: Practical ApproachesLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9355 .F47 2005
Explains sentencing options for offences created by all levels of government-federal, provincial, & municipal, including the federal Corrections Act. -
Ruby, Sentencing, 9th ed.LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9355 .R839 2017
Textbook on sentencing principles, objectives, precedents and trends.
Young Offenders
-
Bala, Youth Criminal Justice LawLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9445.A323 B34 2012 or Online via Westlaw Edge Canada
Introduction to young offender law; explains the Youth Criminal Justice Act, which replaced the Young Offenders Act in April 2003. and refers to key cases. -
-
Charter
-
-
McLeod, Canadian Charter of Rights: The Prosecution and Defence of Criminal and Other Statutory OffencesLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9265 .C36
Deals with the expanding effect of the Charter on issues arising in criminal proceedings and the prosecution of statutory offences. -
Stuart, Charter Justice in Canadian Criminal Law, 6th ed.LAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9304 .S89 2014
Reviews how the Charter has been applied in criminal courts.
Search and Seizure
-
Hutchinson & Morton, Search and Seizure Law in CanadaLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE9270 .H882
Defines search & seizure; reviews various topics, e.g. electronic surveillance, motor vehicle searches.
Annotated Acts
-
Gibson, Canadian Criminal Code OffencesLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE8807.5 .G4274
Practice manual providing essential information on 50 commonly charged Criminal Code offences. -
Martin, Martin's Annual Criminal CodeLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KE8803.9 .M37 [current year] & Online via Westlaw Edge Canada
A current and authoritative consolidation of the Criminal Code and other federal criminal legislation annotated with reported and unreported decisions from all court levels. -
Muir & Libby, Annotated British Columbia Motor Vehicle ActLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KEB381.A32 M84 2000
A current consolidation of the Act plus summaries of decisions from various court levels. -
Segal, Manual of Motor Vehicle LawLAW LIBRARY reference room (level 2): KEO535 .S43 1982
Section-by-section annotations to the text of Ontario's Highway Traffic Act. It also provides a concise treatment of motor vehicle law with case law and statutory references for all provinces.
