Creative Writing

Building upon the little extant scholarship on graphic narratives from the Global South, this collection moves beyond a narrow Western approach to this quickly expanding field. By focusing on texts from the Middle East, Africa, Latin America, and Asia, these essays expand the study of graphic narratives to a global scale.

What exactly are comics? Can they be art, literature or even pornography? How should we understand the characters, stories and genres that shape them? Thinking about comics raises a bewildering range of questions about representation, narrative and value. Philosophy of Comics is an introduction to these philosophical questions.

Written in straightforward, jargon-free language, A Concise Dictionary of Comics guides students, researchers, readers and educators of all ages and at all levels of comics expertise. It provides them with a dictionary that doubles as a compendium of comics scholarship.

A wide-ranging introductory guide for readers making their first steps into the world of manga, this book helps readers explore the full range of Japanese comic styles, forms and traditions from its earliest texts to the internationally popular comics of the 21st century.

This second edition of Writing for Animation, Comics, and Games expounds on the previous edition with more information on how to construct narratives for these three forms of visual storytelling media. Christy Marx's book offers an in-depth look into scriptwriting and how to break into each of the featured industries.

This book provides both students and scholars with a critical and historical introduction to the graphic novel. Jan Baetens and Hugo Frey explore this exciting form of visual and literary communication, showing readers how to situate and analyse graphic novels since their rise to prominence half a century ago.

Part of a 4-volume set that also includes Independents & Underground Classics, Heroes & Superheroes, and Manga, this volume contains over 70 essays covering themes and concepts of graphic novels. It includes genres, time periods, social relevance, and craftsmanship such as penciling and inking.