Welcome to the Master of Engineering Leadership (MEL) guide and welcome to UBC Library!
The following video introduces the library services and the best ways for you to access these services.
Additionally, there is a "Graduate Student Library Orientation" guide you may find useful.
In this guide you will find information on how to use UBC libraries effectively, library services you might find most helpful, resources specific to your program, and more!
How can a librarian help you? Subject Librarians are available for consultations by email, phone and appointment. They can help with selecting and searching databases, locating specialized materials, and more.
The interdisciplinary nature of the MEL program means that there are materials in more than one library on campus that might suit your research. The main library for engineering is Woodward Library, while materials regarding business and industry are located at the David Lam Library and materials for architecture and urban design will be found at the Music, Art, and Architecture Library. Each of these libraries has open hours for in-person reference help, a reference email for inquiries, and the ability to consult with subject librarians.
For immediate research help outside of open hours for the above libraries, inquiries can be directed to the AskAway live chat service.
Your UBCcard is your student ID and also your library card. Your UBCcard gives you access to materials at all the campus libraries and additionally functions as your PayForPrint card. Learn more about printing here: Use the Library: Print, Copy, Scan
You can find materials through the library.ubc.ca website using Summon or the UBC Library Catalog. When you find something that suits your research, you can check out physical materials for 2-8 weeks or download an unlimited number of journal articles as PDFs.
Students at UBC have access to numerous services. Some that might help you research include:
Plagiarism is the theft of words or ideas from others and even yourself, and it is a form of academic misconduct. Plagiarism can range from accidental to deliberate, but even if it is an accident, it's still plagiarism. Self plagiarism occurs when you utilize the same (or nearly the same) assignment for two separate classes without permission. At UBC, if you plagiarize, you could receive a zero on your assignment, or even face suspension from the university. Citing your sources helps your avoid plagiarism and protects your academic integrity. See the "Citing Sources" page of this guide for more information or the How to Cite guide. Learn more about academic integrity and plagiarism here: Understanding Academic Integrity
In this section, you’ll learn what databases are, and some tips for searching them effectively.
That concludes part 1. In the next video, you’ll learn how to find scholarly engineering resources in the engineering database Compendex.
Welcome to part 2 of the academic databases videos. In this video, you’ll learn why the engineering database Compendex is a good database to use when looking for scholarly engineering research.
Welcome to part 3 of the academic databases videos. In this video, you’ll learn about the Web of Science database.
Welcome to Research Skills for Engineering Students module 5, part 4, academic databases. In this video, you’ll learn about UBC Library Research Guides, and how they can help you find the best resources for your subject.
Step 1: Download and install the extension: leanlibrary.com/download
Step 2: Select University of British Columbia
Step 3: Start searching! When off-campus, Library Access will let you know when you are on a website that the library has access to.
Step 4: Login with your UBC CWL (campus wide login)