Fine and Private Press Books at RBSC
Rare Books and Special Collections (RBSC) has a number of fine and private press books in its collection.
While many of the artists and presses in our collection are from British Columbia, our collection also includes notable examples of fine and private press books from other parts of Canada and around the world. In addition to holding the published works by many BC presses, we also hold the archival records of various authors, bookbinders, and presses.
About Fine and Private Press Books
Fine press books are crafted by publishers that produce books of high artistic quality and craftsmanship. They are often published in limited editions, include unique illustrations, and use high quality paper and binding materials. According to Crane Giamo and Emily Tipps of the University of Utah, "fine press books’ physicality is part of their inherent data. Their information is not only theoretical and linguistic, but also (and often primarily) tactile and visual. Traditional fine press is characterized by letterpress-printed text, handmade paper, and meticulous typesetting."
- Giamo, Crane, and Emily Tipps. "Sustaining & Growing the Vision of an Academic Library's Fine Press." Journal of Electronic Publishing 20, no 2 (Summer 2017). https://doi.org/10.3998/3336451.0020.208.
Private press books are produced by a small press that is most often operated as an artistic or craft-based venture rather than a purely commercial business. Private press is often a term used to describe the English Arts and Crafts movement of the 19th and 20th centuries under the influence of William Morris' Kelmscott Press.
-
AbeBooks. “Small, Fine & Private Presses.” Book Collecting Guide. AbeBooks. Accessed April 28, 2021. https://www.abebooks.com/books/rarebooks/collecting-guide/what_books_collect/small-fine-private-press.shtml#:~:text=A%20fine%20press%20is%20a,famous%20bookbinder%20for%20their%20volumes.
Fine and Private Presses of British Columbia
- (m)Öthêr Tøñgué Press | Salt Spring Island, BC
(m)Öthêr Tøñgué Press operated as a private press and trade publisher from 1994-2021. Between 1994 and 2007, the private press published 28 limited edition Canadian poetry chapbooks, letterpressed poetry broadsides, covers, linocuts and book art. Since expanding into trade publishing in 2008, they have published 52 trade titles. The press has ceased publishing new authors since the retirement of its owner Mona Fertig at the end of 2021.
RBSC has works printed and published by (m)Öthêr Tøñgué Press in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here. - Arsenal Pulp Press | Vancouver, BC
Established in 1971 in Vancouver, British Columbia, Scriveners Pulp Press Limited was one of several ventures in alternative arts and literature of the early 1970s. Following the sale of its typesetting and printing operations in 1982, the company changed its name to Arsenal Pulp Press. Although still a literary press, Arsenal gradually began to publish literary non-fiction titles and it continues to maintain a tradition of commitment to publications about British Columbia.
RBSC has works printed and published by Arsenal Pulp Press in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here.
RBSC has records created by Arsenal Pulp Press in its archives. The fonds consists of the business records created and/or collected by Arsenal Pulp Press, predominantly from the early 1980s to the late 2000s. Learn more about those materials here. - Association of Book Publishers of British Columbia | Vancouver, BC
The Association of Book Publishers of British Columbia (ABPBC) was formed in 1974 under the name of the British Columbia Publishers Group, before adopting its current name in 1978. The ABPBC aims to assist and promote book publishing in B.C. through liaison activities with the public, government, and business. It is an affiliate of the Association of Canadian Publishers.
RBSC has works printed and published by ABPBC in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here.
RBSC has records created by ABPBC in its archives.The fonds consists of records relating to the ABPBC’s activities. Records cover the period of time from the ABPBC’s inception to 2015 and pertain primarily to the book publishing industry in the province of British Columbia. Learn more about those materials here. - Barbarian Press | Mission, BC
Crispin and Jan Elsted founded Barbarian Press in Kent, England in 1977, but relocated in 1978 to Canada near Mission, B.C. They have aimed to publish poetry, translations, classics, and belles lettres in a style which both glorifies the text and reveals it to the reader with a minimum of interference. Most of the their books now include wood engraved illustrations. Since 1978, Elsteds have published continuously, producing both commercial work (stationery, cards and other job printing) and fine presswork (illustrated monographs, miniatures, pamphlets, broadsheets and keepsakes).
RBSC has works printed and published by Barbarian Press in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here.
RBSC has records created by Barbarian Press in its archives. The fonds consists of correspondence, financial information, and project and printing files related to the planning, design, and production of books, pamphlets, etc. Learn more about those materials here. - Black Stone Press | Vancouver, BC
Run by David Clifford and his daughter Yasmine Franchi, Black Stone Press provided fine letterpress printing and graphic design services on Granville Island in Vancouver, B.C. from 1996 to 2021.
RBSC has works printed and published by Black Stone Press in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here.
RBSC has records created by Black Stone Press in its archives. The collection contains artists’ books and chapbooks that were printed by the press, as well as ephemeral material such as greeting cards and promotional material for businesses. Learn more about those materials here. - Charles Mayrs
Since the early 2000s, Mayrs has worked extensively in the writing and design of fine press limited edition books. These books feature Mayrs’ own words and art such as his drawings, paintings, and photography and have been collected by a variety of institutions across Canada, including the University of British Columbia. He was awarded the Alcuin Society’s inaugural Award for Excellence in Limited Edition Book Design for his book British Columbia. In Light and Dark in 2009.
RBSC has works by Charles Mayrs in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here.
RBSC has records created by Charles Mayrs in its archives. These fonds illustrates Mayrs’s work in visual arts, limited edition book design and publishing, and advertising and PR. It also contains records relating to his personal interests and family history. Learn more about those materials here. - Charles van Sandwyk Fine Arts & The Fairy Press | North Vancouver, BC
Charles van Sandwyk was born in Johannesburg, South Africa in 1966. In 1977, he emigrated to Vancouver, B.C., where he studied graphic design at Capilano College in North Vancouver. In his work as an illustrator, writer, and artist, van Sandwyk often explores imaginative and ornate interpretations of animals and the natural world. In 1986, he won an Alcan award for his limited edition book A Selection of Neighbourly Birds, illustrated with etchings printed on an antique intaglio press. This first attempt at publishing prompted a passionate venture into the world of handmade and private press books and prints. He writes, designs, and illustrates his own books in addition to overseeing every step of their publication.
RBSC has works printed and published by Charles van Sandwyk in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here.
RBSC has records created by Charles van Sandwyk in its archives. The fonds consists of material related to van Sandwyk's development as an artist, illustrator, and publisher of fine books in Vancouver, such as: original artwork (watercolours, etchings); exhibition posters; press proofs; broadsides; and more. Learn more about those materials here. - Cobblestone Press | Vancouver, BC
Cobblestone Press was a British Columbia private press established by Gerald Giampa in 1964, when he was just 14 years old. After spending time traveling, Giampa returned to Vancouver, set up shop, and lived off his printing skills until his passing in 2009. Giampa also published a typographical journal, The Fount. Type foundry P22 now maintains Giampa's website.
RBSC has works printed and published by Cobblestone Press in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here.
RBSC has records created by Cobblestone Press in its archives. The fonds consists of manuscripts, printed material, financial files, and photographs as well as subject, letter, book, and magazine files. Learn more about those materials here.
Image source: Giampa, Gerald. Gerald Giampa Cobblestone Press Logo. 1978. Letterpress print. http://sim-publishing.com/bca/art-0610.htm">here. - Greenboathouse Press | Vernon, BC
Greenboathouse Press is a small publishing company producing short run, limited editions, printed letterpress, and handbound books. Previously called Greenboathouse Books, they publish content with a focus on Canadian poetry, with attention to typography, design, and fine-printing. Greenboathouse Press consists of Jason Dewinetz (founder, editor, designer and typographer) and Aaron Peck (assistant editor).
RBSC has works printed and published by Greenboathouse Press in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here.
RBSC has records created by Greenboathouse Press in its archives. The fonds consists of published material, correspondence, proofs, manuscripts, reviews, broadsheets, polymer plates, photographs, artwork, orders, posters, and promotional material. Learn more about those materials here. - Harbour Publishing Company | Madeira Park, BC
The Harbour Publishing Company is an award-winning independent book publisher owned and operated by Howard and Mary White. Established in 1974, Harbour is based in British Columbia's Sunshine Coast. Since then, it has published over five hundred titles and is well known for the Raincoast Chronicles, a series of anthologies on BC coast history and culture.
RBSC has works printed and published by the Harbour Publishing Company in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here.
RBSC has records created by the Harbour Publishing Company in its archives. The fonds consists primarily of manuscripts and proposals submitted to Harbour, as well as correspondence, financial records, subject files, and sales, marketing, and promotional files. Learn more about those materials here. - Heavenly Monkey | Vancouver, BC
Heavenly Monkey is the imprint of publisher Rollin Milroy, dedicated to creating books for people interested in contemporary applications of traditional book crafts, including: handmade papers, letterpress printing, and bindings that emphasize both aesthetic and structural integrity. Their books are designed as objects to be experienced both intellectually and physically; this, and the skillful application of innovative use of technology from any era, are the studio's guiding principles.With only a few exceptions, all Heavenly Monkey books are printed from hand-set type on dampened handmade paper using a Washington handpress. In 2005, Heavenly Monkey’s activities expanded to include publishing books created by others, under the imprint Heavenly Monkey Editions. Editions are typically of 50 copies or fewer.
RBSC has works printed and published by Heavenly Monkey in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here.
RBSC has records created by Heavenly Monkey in its archives. The fonds consists of records which document books and ephemera published by Rollin Milroy’s three printing presses: A Lone Press, Heavenly Monkey, and Heavenly Monkey Editions, as well as other independent and collaborative projects published by other printing presses. Learn more about those materials here. - Klanak Press | Vancouver, BC
Klanak Press was established in 1958 by Vancouver writers, William and Alice McConnell. The aim of the press was to publish quality limited editions of works by Canadian writers and it emphasized the design and typography of its books as much as the writing itself. The press became inactive in 1990.
RBSC has works printed and published by Klanak Press in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here.
RBSC has records created by Klanak Press in its archives. The fonds consists primarily of letters, both business and personal, wherein many relate manuscripts submitted to or published by Klanak Press. Other materials include press releases, invoices, order forms, mailing lists, and book reviews. Learn more about those materials here. - Lazara Press | Vancouver, BC
Lazara Press is a small, progressive publishing house located in Vancouver, B.C. Founded by Penny Goldsmith in 1982, Lazara publishes poetry, literature, broadsides, and chapbooks and is committed to publishing, keeping in print, and distributing works that might not otherwise be available.
RBSC has works printed and published by Lazara Press in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here.
RBSC has records created by Lazara Press in its archives. The fonds consists of administrative and publication records created and/or collected by Lazara Press and its founder Penny Goldsmith, predominantly from the early 1980s to the late 1990s. Learn more about those materials here. - Perro Verlag Books by Artists | Mayne Island, BC
Established in 2005, Perro Verlag is an idea that grew out of collaborative drawing sessions, comics exhibitions, and barbecues at Lucky’s Comics in Vancouver. Perro Verlag’s roots go back to the energy of 1970s artist’s mimeo magazines in which the page became an alternative exhibition space for artists to work in. The studio's editorial vision is to be "a restless but friendly, constantly evolving entity."
RBSC has works printed and published by Perro Verlag in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here. - Pie Tree PressKnown as a designer, illustrator, and typographer, Jim Rimmer was a central figure in Canada’s fine press movement. He designed, engraved, and cast fonts in metal, and also designed digital fonts. He founded Pie Tree Press in 1974, and printed a variety of broadsides and books.
RBSC has works by Jim Rimmer in its holdings. Learn more about those materials here. - Private Press of Robert Reid
Robert Reid is known as one of Canada's first internationally renowned typographers and book designers. He opened his own press under a variety of names including Graphos Press, The Nevermore Press, and eventually the Private Press of Robert Reid. Reid lived and worked in the Vancouver area until 1963, when he moved to Montreal and then to New York in 1974 and New Haven in 1976. He returned to Vancouver in 1998 and, although retired, continued typography, letterpress printing, and publishing work. Robert Reid passed away on January 21, 2022.
RBSC has books and other print projects by Robert Reid in its holdings. Learn more about those holdings here.
RBSC has records created by Robert Reid in its archives. The fonds includes printwork from a variety of presses, examples of printed material at various stages in the publication process, and research and reference material relating to design and printing. Learn more about those materials here. - Wil HudsonWil Hudson was a noted printer for over thirty years. In Vancouver, in the 1960s he was known as Grouse Mountain Press, New Age Press, and "Wil Hudson, Printer." In the 1970s at Cape Dorset, NWT, he published with the West Baffin Eskimo Cooperative a native language printing type. Later, he settled in Powell River as a commercial printer until 1991.
RBSC has records created by Wil Hudson in its archives. The fonds consists largely of print samples of commercial work produced by Hudson throughout his career as a fine printer. Learn more about those materials here.
Finding Materials: Subject Headings
Try following one of these links. These subject headings are used throughout the UBC libraries, not only for RBSC.
Finding Materials: By Publisher
Step 1: Visit our home page at www.library.ubc.ca
Steps 2-3: Select 'Books & Media' tab; click on 'More Search Options'
Step 4: Select 'Guided Keyword Search' tab
Steps 5-6: Type in the name of the publisher you want to find; apply filters for 'as a phrase', 'Publisher/Place', and 'Rare Books and Special Collections'
Step 7: Browse results
Related Works in the UBC Catalogue
The Contemporary Small Press by ISBN: 3030487830Publication Date: 2021-01-05The Contemporary Small Press: Making Publishing Visible addresses the contemporary literary small press in the US and UK from the perspective of a range of disciplines. Covering numerous aspects of small press publishing--poetry and fiction, children's publishing, the importance of ethical commitments, the relation to the mainstream, the attitudes of those working for presses, the role of the state in supporting presses--scholars from literary criticism, the sociology of literature and publishing studies demonstrate how a variety of approaches and methods are needed to fully understand the contemporary small press and its significance for literary studies and for broader literary culture.
Fine Printing and Private Presses: Selected Papers by Call Number: Z231.5.P7 C36 2001ISBN: 0712347224Publication Date: 2001"Writing to the Monotype Recorder in 1933, Eric Gill stated that a private press prints solely what it chooses to print, whereas a public press prints what its customers demand of it. Although the most famous private presses came out of the arts and crafts movement, in the 100 years since the formation of Morris's Kelmscott Press, fine printing has emerged as a distinct subject. In this series of essays, Roderick Cave draws on over 40 years experience of study, to examine the history and output of some of the famous presses such as the Doves Press and the Golden Cockerel Press, as well as some of the lesser known names such as the Pear Tree Press and the Pontine Press. The geographical range of fine printing extends around the world from the UK and US to Italy, Austria and Jamaica." (Description from Google Books.)
Letterpress: The Allure of the Handmade by Call Number: Z252.5.R4 J879 2004ISBN: 9782880467845Publication Date: 2004-08-01"Contemporary graphic designers, particularly those who have grown up with the computer, are re-discovering the creative potential of letterpress as a medium. Letterpress has unique visual and tactile impact, thanks to its physical presence on the page, and offers a powerful means of expressing ideas through a more thoughtful and intelligent use of type. Despite the dominance of computer typesetting and printing in trade publishing, new, private letterpress publishers are on the increase. This timely book celebrates the diversity of the original work being produced by graphic designers and typographers using letterpress around the world. The book examines US and European private presses, top international graphic designers working with letterpress, the use of letterpress as a commercial medium in developing countries, and new developments in letterpress technology. It is designed to support the trend for non-computer design techniques now enjoying a period of new growth and reinvention." (Description from Google Books.)
Letterpress Printing: A Manual for Modern Fine Press Printers by Call Number: Z244 .M32 2005ISBN: 158456167XPublication Date: 2005-07-01Letterpress Printing is the comprehensive sourcebook for beginning and intermediate letterpress printers. Using clear explanations of technical terms and more than 80 illustrations, the manual describes presses, ink, paper, press operation, type and photopolymer plates. The book shows how to set up and run small and large platen presses, and Vandercook and Challenge-style hand cylinder presses. This is an up to date work for students and fine press printers wishing to sharpen their skills.
Fine & Private Press Organizations, Blogs, and Journals
- The Big, Big List of Indie Publishers and Small Presses
A list of 150+ indie publishers and small presses, long-established and recently founded, that currently accept unsolicited submissions directly from writers. - The Alcuin Society
Founded in 1965 by Geoffrey Spencer, The Alcuin Society launched with the goal of promoting a wider appreciation of beautifully produced books. It promotes interest in the book arts—writing, publishing, book design and production, book trade, book collecting, printing, binding, typography, paper making, calligraphy, and illustration - Fine Press Book Association
The Fine Press Book Association is an international society promoting the creation, study, and collection of contemporary book arts that aspire to the highest standards of craft and design. The association publishes a journal called Parenthesis, which can be read on its website here. - Robert Bolick's Books on BooksBooks On Books is a website offering postings and reviews about book art, the book arts, history and future of the book, the acts of reading and looking and their relationship. It aims to bookmark the evolution of the book — from the centuries-long movement of orality into literacy to tomorrow’s ongoing development of the codex offline and online. These bookmarks range from the bibliographic to the paleo-webliographic, from incunabula to the e-incunabulum, from papyrus scrolls to scrolling screens and from the book arts to book art. The site covers book artists, fine and private presses, printing history, and more. Along with Bolick's postings, the website also has an extensive bibliography of "books on books" here. (Description from Books on Books About page.)
