Understanding 2SLGTBQIA+
The acronym 2SLGTBQIA+ respectfully acknowledges members of the Two-Spirit, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (or Questioning), Intersex, Asexual community. The placement of Two-Spirit (2S) at the beginning of the acronym is to recognize that Indigenous people are the first peoples of this land and their understanding of gender and sexuality precedes colonization.[1] The “+” at the end of the acronym is inclusive of ways individuals express their gender and sexuality outside the heteronormative and gender binary.[2]
[1] University of British Columbia. (n.d.). Equity & inclusion glossary of terms. https://equity.ubc.ca/resources/equity-inclusion-glossary-of-terms/
[2] Red River College Polytech. 2022. Statistics Canada. https://library.rrc.ca/Statistics-canada
Databases specific to LGTBQ+
- International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture This link opens in a new windowExamines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history.
- Intersectional LGBTQ Issues Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowTen case studies pertaining to Intersectional LGBTQ issues and history in the 21st century
- LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 (Part II) This link opens in a new windowRare and unique documentation of LGBTQ history through fully-searchable newsletters, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other primary sources.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowThe premier resource to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
Databases with LGBTQ+ Content
- Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAlternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals
- Defining gender This link opens in a new window110 source documents (books and periodicals) from the early modern period to the nineteenth century supported by introductory essays, biographies, and chronologies.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowIndependent Voices is a four-year project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals and newspapers of the alternative press archives.
Journals
- TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly
- GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
- Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide
- Gender, Place and Culture
- Journal of Lesbian Studies
- Journal of Homosexuality
- LGBT Health
- Journal of LGBT Youth
- International Journal of Transgenderism
- Jouranl of Bisexuality
Encyclopedia's & Handbooks
A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies by ISBN: 1405113294Publication Date: 2007-09-24The Companion's focus on sexuality is of universal relevance and merits serious attention in all academic courses at the university level.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History by ISBN: 9780684325576Publication Date: 2018-10-01"Takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events."
Handbook of Lesbian and Gay Studies by ISBN: 0761965114Publication Date: 2002-11-18This book is unique in lesbian and gay studies. From politics to health, cyber-queers to queer families, the review essays in this volume cover all the important bases of GLB history and politics.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by ISBN: 9781483371306Publication Date: 2016-06-02This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies by ISBN: 9781544393810Publication Date: 2021-04-09This encyclopedia, featuring more than 300 well-researched articles, takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries address a wide range of topics, from broad concepts (e.g., the criminal justice system, activism, mental health), to specific subjects (e.g., the trans pride flag, the Informed Consent Model, voice therapy), to key historical figures, events, and organizations (e.g., Lili Elbe, the Stonewall Riots, Black Lives Matter).
Transgender: a Reference Handbook by ISBN: 9781440856914Publication Date: 2019-02-15This book will primarily serve as a reference guide and jumping off point for further research for those seeking information about what it means to be transgender.
