Supported by a grant from the Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR)
UBC Library holds a large volume of Chinese language rare materials that have never been adequately described. These hidden collections' were donated by community members or purchased from Hong Kong or Macau with donated funds. Their research value are mostly unknown and inaccessible to scholars.
CLIR seeks to address the hidden collection problem by awarding grants for supporting innovative, efficient description of large volumes of material of high value to scholars. UBC Library is honored to be a supporting partner in a collaboration led by the University of Washington that has won a grant from CLIR. The Cataloging Hidden Special Collections and Archives grant, is for a project entitled “Discovering Modern China: University of Washington (UW) & University of British Columbia (UBC) Collections.” This project involves the cataloging of special collections held at both libraries, starting from June 1, 2014 and wrapped up within 18 months. The project report and the bibliography have been included in this two-volume set, published in August 2018. Mr. Wu Ya Min continues to work on the Puban Collection sponsored by a foundation in Canada.
This marks one of only two international collaborative efforts funded by CLIR and the first involving a Canadian university.This guide is providing the project related information for the team members, international partner institutions and scholars.
Principal Investigator: Jing Liu
Chinese Language Librarian, UBC Asian Library