Skip to main content

German 500: Research methods: Home

Other Library guides

The Library is also home to a number of other research guides. Be sure to check out those for such related subjects as History, Religion, Philosophy, Art History and the like.

Can't find a book you think we should own?

We may actually own it!  (For example, the Library subscribes to or has purchased a number of e-book collections from such major publishers as Oxford, Cambridge, and Routledge. It can take a while for the records to be added to the catalogue.) Please e-mail me or submit a book suggestion form. If it's something not already in our collection we may even buy a copy.

 

Encyclopedias and similar works

Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon. Biograph.-bibliograph. Handbuch.  A comprehensive lexicon which includes writers from all German-speaking countries and regions. Brief biographical information as well as selective bibliographies of primary and secondary sources. In Koerner reference at ZPT85.K86 1966.

Encyclopedia of German literature. Unique in that the contributors are literary scholars working in Anglo-American countries. In Koerner  reference at  PT 91.E53 2000.

 

Gale literary sources. Includes such standards as Contemporary literary criticism, Twentieth-century literary criticism,  and the Dictionary of literary biography

Kindlers Literatur Lexikon Online. A comprehensive German-language encyclopedia of world literature. Includes over 13,000 author entries.

Oxford companion to German literature. The electronic equivalent of the one-volume third edition:  covers authors and their major works, as well as historical, intellectual, and cultural backgrounds

Biographical dictionaries

Deutsche biographische Enzyklopädie. The standard. Also available in English translation as The dictionary of German biography. Both are in Koerner reference at CT759.D48 and CT759.D4813 2001.

Deutsche Biographie. Includes entries from both the Allgemeine deutsche Biographie (1875-1912) and the Neue deutsche Biographie (1953-). The print volumes are in Koerner reference at CT1053.A5 and CT1053.N4.

Article indexes

Bibiliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenscaft. Comprehensive coverage of German language and literary studies with nearly a half million citations to monographs and to articles and reviews in journals, collected studies, and newspapers.

Germanistik Online Datenbank.  Online access to Germanistik, the leading international bibliographic review journal for German language and literary studies and associated disciplines. Coverage begins with 1960.

MLA international bibliography. Articles, books and some dissertations on literature and related topics. Includes material published in the major European languages.

Quellenlexikon zur deutschen Literaturgeschichte. A bibliography of secondary literature published between 1945 and 1990. Includes kindred areas (philosophy, cultural criticism, theology) as well as literature itself. In Koerner reference at ZPT85.S349 1994.

Web of science. A rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.

Theses and dissertations

Deutsche Nationalbibliothek. Includes over 120,000  dissertations and post-doctoral theses dating from 1998 and on. Select the 'Standorte/Kataloge'  tab from the lower range of tabs and limit to 'Hochschulschriften'

Theses and dissertations. The Library's guide to finding theses and dissertations at UBC,as well as Canadian, American and international institutions.

Librarian

Keith Bunnell's picture
Keith Bunnell
Contact:
Walter Koerner Library
1958 Main Mall
Vancouver, BC
V6T 1Z2
(604) 822-3748