QR Code for this Guide
Library Browser Extension
Step 1: Download and install the extension: leanlibrary.com/download
Step 2: Select University of British Columbia
Step 3: Start searching! When off-campus, Library Access will let you know when you are on a website that the library has access to.
Step 4: Login with your UBC CWL (campus wide login)
Woodward Library Research Help
Can't find articles on your topic? Not sure which database to use?
Contact the Woodward Library Research Help Desk https://woodward.library.ubc.ca/research-help/ via email, phone, in-person or AskAway
Finding out more about your topic
Background information can often be found in books, encyclopedias, and handbooks. These sources may also point out other books or articles relevant to your topic. They can be helpful to find keywords, important terms, concepts and author names to use when searching databases.
UBC Library provides access to many excellent resources in both print and online versions; a select number are listed below.
Subject specific sources
- Knovel Basic Academic This link opens in a new windowKnovel contains dozens of handbooks in engineering and the physical sciences. Special features include data search, interactive tables, and case studies.
- Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This link opens in a new windowShort (typically 75 to 125 pages) electronic books that synthesize an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field. Synthesis is organized by series and each topic is peer reviewed to assure quality.
- Summon Ebook and Journal Search EngineThe best search interface for finding online books on any topic available to UBC faculty, students and staff.
General
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOver 300 key Oxford University Press dictionaries and other reference works. Multidisciplinary.
- Oxford Research Encylopedias This link opens in a new windowOxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offers peer-reviewed, article-style writings that are authored and edited by leading scholars in a variety of subject areas.
- Merriam-Webster Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe World Wide Web edition of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new windowThe OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, & pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world.
