RefWorks is a web-based citation management program that enables you to download, store, and share references, and format bibliographies in seconds. UBC Library maintains a site licence to both RefWorks and RefShare. They are available for free to UBC students, faculty, staff, and alumni.
UBC Student Office 365 and Write-N-Cite
Students who have recently downloaded UBC Student Office 365 can currently no longer install the Write-N-Cite add-in for Word that allows one to generate in-text citations and a reference page. This does not affect anyone who has purchased their own individual subscription or anyone who is already working with Write-N-Cite.
Public workstations with Write-N-Cite installed:
UBC Library's workstations have the Write-N-Cite Plugin installed on MS Word. Visit: https://services.library.ubc.ca/computers-technology/public-computers/ This link also includes instructions for accessing the Remote Labs.
** Please note that the library has switched to a new login system called OpenAthens. You will use OpenAthens to login to online library resources, including databases, ebooks, articles and journals. Please go to the OpenAthens Connect guide where detailed, accurate information about authentication and linking to resources is available.
UBC Library currently supports the Legacy version of RefWorks. In 2018, all RefWorks users will be moved to a new version of the software. The library's RefWorks resource guide has information about both the Legacy and New versions. Any recent changes to RefWorks will be updated here.
Create a free individual account (you can create more than one account).
PLEASE NOTE: The group code may be changed once a year for security reasons.
Contact firstname.lastname@example.org if you wish to delete your account.
Accounts that have been inactive for more than 2 years may be deleted by the UBC Library RefWorks administrators.
Should you want to move the content of your RefWorks account to a different program such as EndNote, Mendeley, or Zotero, SFU Library has compiled some step-by-step instructions.
Graduates of UBC can create or maintain a RefWorks account as UBC alumni. Alumni have access to RefWorks, but not to subscription databases from the library. As well, the UBC eLink in RefWorks will not provide access to online full-text resources.
To maintain or create your current account as an alumni:
If you are joining another institution that has a RefWorks site license, you can move your database to a new account with that institution. Remember to backup your UBC account; you can then restore the citations to your new account.
There are many ways to add citations to your account.
Selected tutorials include:
The current UBC Library catalogue does not support exporting citations to RefWorks. Please use one of the following options instead:
UBC RefWorks users have up to 5 GB of storage in RefWorks, and there is no limit on the number of references that can be stored. However, accounts larger than 1 GB, with more than 100 attachments, or more than 20,000 references may be very difficult or impossible to backup or move.
There are four ways to use RefWorks to write your paper and format your bibliography. You can:
Download Write-N-Cite from the Tools menu in RefWorks. You'll also need to ensure that your computer has the latest versions of Microsoft Word, Java, and Visual Studios Tools for Windows. Please note that Write-n-Cite is not currently compatible with Word 2016 for Mac. Mac users with Word 2016 should consult this guide for workarounds.
Another alternative for Mac users of Word 2016 is to download RefWorks Citation Manager from the Office Store, as described in this guide from Gonzaga University.
This tutorial shows how to use Write-N-Cite to create citations and bibliographies.
View this tutorial.
View this tutorial.
RefWorks allows you to choose from many traditional output styles such as APA, Chicago, Turabian, and MLA, as well as citation styles defined by particular journals. See the RefWorks complete list of Output Styles Supported.
To modify an existing output style, or create a new one, see the Using the Output Style Editor tutorials.
RefShare is a module of RefWorks that allows users to share citations, folders, and databases with members of the UBC community, and globally with any researcher having Internet access.
Please note that attachments are not viewable through RefShare for purposes of copyright compliance.
If you choose not to use RefShare to share folders, RefWorks also has other options for sharing your citations. See the Sharing References without RefShare section of RefWorks Help (found under Sharing Your References) for more information.
If you intend to make use of RefWorks in collaboration with researchers at institutions other than The University of British Columbia, it is required that such researchers:
Researchers at UBC are prohibited from sharing their UBC RefWorks account information with anyone who does not meet the criteria set forth in 1 and 2 above.
To share your UBC RefWorks account information as noted above, you will need to provide your RefWorks Log-in Name and Password as well as the UBC Group Code to the non-UBC researchers with whom you are collaborating.
What is the UBC Library Group Code? Follow this link.