UBC Library's Rare Books and Special Collections holds one of the world's largest collections of maps and guidebooks of the Japanese Tokugawa period, ca. 1600-1867. The collection varies in both format and size: items range from small single-sheet maps to more than thirty square feet, and also include a ceramic plate, a woodblock, and maps in scroll format.
Most of this collection was acquired from George H. Beans, the original collector, and is accompanied by his inventory A List of Japanese Maps of the Tokugawa Era. See George Beans Collection of Japanese Maps of the Tokugawa Period:
* Filter the categories of the materials (choose from Category)
Examples of the useful categories:
Printed Material -- Printed Material / Pamphlet / Map, etc.
Painting & Paint -- Print -- Full-Color Print (Nishiki-e)
Lifestyle & Folk Custom
Classical Book -- Woodblock Print
* Filter the date (Creation date/Production date)
* Capitalize the first letter of each word you type in the search boxes. (i.e. Type "Travel Journal", not "travel journal" nor "Travel journal")
Database on history, culture, documents related to Edo/Tokyo. Document type: Woodblock prints, Ranking (Banzuzke), Tile Engraving (Kawaraban), Japanese book, Edo castle, Edo map, Sugoroku, Illustrated map. Search and Results in English only.
The collection includes 484 Nishiki-e picturing 103 landmarks of Edo. Each page of a landmark gives a description, and present-day address, and with Nishiki-e thumbnails, adds links to illustrated geographical booklets Edo Meisho Zue, and pictorial maps of Edo.