Introduction
The following collections containing historical photographs have been divided into two categories: those that contain digitized photos and those that do not. The digitized collections contain material from UBC's Rare Books and Special Collections (RBSC). The fonds and collections that are not digitized are a part of RBSC's holdings that must be viewed in person in our reading room.
For more information about viewing our collections in person, check out our website's guide to visitation here.
For additional digitized collections, visit UBC Open Collections.
Digitized Collections
The Capilano Timber Company Collection contains digitized images that are originally from a single photograph album, and depict the operations of the Capilano Timber Company, including loggers, logging camps, and views of the Capilano Valley and the Capilano Suspension Bridge in North Vancouver.
For more information about the collection and its contents, view the RBSC finding aid here.
[Unknown]. (1919, September 1). Association of American Editors Camp A After dining at Camp ready to go the woods to see how it is done Manager Goodwin G Johnson, host [P]. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0005315
This digitized collection consists of materials that document Chinese Canadian history represented in the holdings of UBC Library, SFU Library, City of Vancouver Archives, Community Historical Recognition Program (CHRP) community partners, and other community contributors. The collections contain digitized photographs, audio/video recordings, manuscripts (including correspondence and diaries), and organizational documents.
[Unknown]. (1944). [Photograph of Marshall Chow and a girl] [P]. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0367099
The Fisherman Publishing Society published The Fisherman for the Salmon Purse Seiners Union and continues to publish the newspaper for their successor union, the United Fisherman and Allied Workers' Union. Images from the collection document all aspects of the West Coast fishing industry, as well as non-fishing labour events in B.C.'s Lower Mainland.
For more information about the collection and its contents, view the RBSC finding aid here.
[Unknown]. (c.1920). Whale on dock at Coal Harbour, British Columbia [P]. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0006479
As with the larger Japanese Canadian Research Collection of which it forms a part, the Japanese Canadian Photograph Collection (JCPC) was assembled by UBC Library's Rare Books and Special Collections from various donors beginning in the 1970s. While the JCPC documents a wide range of the experiences of Canadians of Japanese descent in British Columbia, the resource is particularly strong in chronicling their treatment during World War II.
[Unknown]. (1942, May 31). View of workers battling flood waters at Decoigne Camp [P]. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0049025
The MacMillan Bloedel Ltd. ("MacBlo") fonds contains materials from what was, at one point, one of the largest forest products companies in the world. Images from the collection document the history of MacMillan Bloedel and its predecessor companies (Powell River Company, Bloedel, Stewart & Welch, H.R. MacMillan Export Company, Ltd., MacMillan & Bloedel, and MacMillan, Bloedel and Powell River Company).
For more information about the collection and its contents, view the RBSC finding aid here.
Kemp, A. R. (1955, August 31). Sid Howard working in seed plot at B. C. Forest Service Nursery, August [P]. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0349248
Born in Sweden, Peter Anderson emigrated to the United States in 1885. He worked as a farmer in Minnesota and a logger in Wisconsin, and later owned a sawmill in Washington. After a stint in the Klondike in 1897, he later moved to British Columbia and started a logging company at Knox Bay and Grassy Bay. The photographs document early logging operations in British Columbia as well as Anderson's experiences in the forest industry.
For more information about the collection and its contents, view the RBSC finding aid here.
[Unknown]. (1924). My famely in 1924 [P]. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0046870
The Tremaine Arkley Croquet Collection contains over 2,400 paintings, illustrations, engravings, advertisements, photographs and other ephemera depicting the game of croquet throughout the years. The images range from fine art to cartoons and everything in between, and show the rise in the game’s popularity in England and America in the 19th and 20th centuries. Many items in the collection show gender roles, as croquet was one of the first games that men and women played together.
For more information about the collection and its contents, view the RBSC finding aid here.
Unknown. (1905). [Photograph depicting a group posing with a croquet mallet]. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0011288
The Uno Langmann Family Collection of British Columbia Photographs consists of more than 7,900 images from 77 albums. This collection includes extensive coverage of B.C. from the 1850s to the 1950s and includes photographs in a wide variety of formats and genres including albums, diaries, portraits, landscapes, and city/townscapes. The digital collection is a subset of a larger collection donated by Uno and Dianne Langmann and Uno Langmann Limited, which consists of more than 18,000 rare and unique early photographs from the 1850s to the 1970s. It is considered a premiere private collection of early provincial photos, and an important illustrated history of early photographic methods. The photographs were taken by a wide range of photographers. Some well-known photographers represented in the collection include William Notman, Charles MacMunn, Frederick Dally, Charles Horetzky, Charles Gentile, Philip Timms, Yucho Chow, R. Maynard, and Leonard Frank.
For more information about the collection and its contents, view the RBSC finding aid here.
Mathers, C. W. (1901). A Moose and TeePee [P] in The Far North [A]. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0053363
The Wallace B. Chung and Madeline H. Chung Collection contains more than 25,000 rare and unique items, including documents, books, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, tableware, and other artifacts. Donated to UBC Library in 1999 by Wallace and Madeline Chung, prominent Vancouver doctors and practitioners of community service, the Chung Collection represents a unique and extensive research collection of items in various formats related to early British Columbia history, immigration and settlement, particularly of Chinese people in North America, and the Canadian Pacific Railway Company. One of the most exceptional and extensive collections of its kind in North America, the Chung Collection has been designated as a national treasure by the Canadian Cultural Property Export Review Board.
For more information about the collection and its contents, view the RBSC finding aid here. The collection also has its own website.
Wand, C. B. (1920). [Wedding portrait] [P]. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0219550
The collection consists of photography of many aspects of WWI, mainly in Europe and particularly on the battlefields of France and Belgium. Some of the subjects depicted include royalty, military commanders, European aristocracy, war technology, and—significant to women’s history—prints of Gibson Girls welding ships or carting coal in Britain.
For more information about the collection and its contents, view the RBSC finding aid here.
[Unknown]. (1918). What the daughters of Britain are doing [P]. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.14288/1.0034295
Non-Digitized Collections
Bennett Pell was born in 1842 in Faversham, Kent and went on to be a worker for early telegraph companies. He oversaw the installation of telephone lines in Europe and Asia and is credited with the invention of the Brockie-Pell arc lamp. In 1863, he became involved with the Indo-European Telegraph Department and, in 1874, he became manager of the Eastern Extension Australasia and China Telegraph Company in Singapore. The fonds consists of a copy of Pell's last will and testament, as well as one album containing photographs, prints, and crests collected by Pell documenting his travels in the 1870s. Many of the photographs are labelled by location, and place names include Aden, Alexandria, Batavia, Isle of Wight, Cairo, Hong Kong, Java, Marseilles, Naples, Rangoon, Singapore, and Suez.
The B.C. Historical Photograph collection consists of photographs collected by UBC's RBSC division throughout its operation. Subjects predominantly include B.C. people, places, and events as well as photos taken throughout the Pacific Northwest, across Canada, and, in some cases, internationally.
The B.C. Historical Postcard and Photograph Albums collection consists of ninety-one albums of roughly 9,000 postcards and photographs pertaining to views and scenes mainly in B.C., but also in the rest of Canada and Europe. Individuals gathered and created the materials on a wide variety of historic subjects during their travels.
Desmond Power was a born in Tientsin, China in 1923. He spent his early years in China until his eventual internment by the Japanese occupying force during WWII. After his release, Desmond settled in Vancouver, B.C. and spent his time researching and writing about his experiences living in both Imperial and Republican China. The collection consists of a medal for bravery that was likely awarded to a family member for meritorious service during the Boxer Uprising of 1899-1901, a fragment of a corresponding letter of recommendation, and an album consisting of photographs of Tientsin during and immediately after the Uprising. The album primarily depicts troop movements and military equipment, but also includes a few personal family photos.
Elsie Heaps was a kindergarten and music teacher in Prince Rupert, B.C. who also taught at an Anglican Sunday School and was involved in a youth group. In 1942, she moved to Slocan City, B.C., where she was involved in many activities. She taught at the local kindergarten, was an organist and choir leader in the local church, and also taught at Glenmere High School from its opening (1942?) to its closing in 1946. The fonds consists of a photograph album received from graduating students of Glenmere High School in Slocan City (1946).
Doris Fuller was born in Stockton, California in 1922. She married Frank Fuller in 1945 and they both went on to receive degrees in Geography and become teachers in the early 1960s. In 1967, they moved to Sechelt, B.C., where Doris became president of the Sechelt Teachers' Association. In 1980, Frank developed a curriculum on the Sechelt Indian cultural heritage. The fonds consists of correspondence, subject files, and photograph albums that pertain to the Fullers' professional careers, labour activities, and personal lives. The fonds also contains materials which reflect the activities of the Labour History Provincial Specialist Association of the BCTF, the Sechelt Indian Curriculum Project, and a film entitled For Twenty Cents a Day.
The Georgia Straight was founded in Vancouver, B.C. in 1967 as an underground press to explore issues not examined in mainstream newspapers, such as sexual freedom, police brutality, and the youth culture of the 1960s and early 1970s. The newspaper ceased publication in 1979 but was revived in 1981 in a different format. The fonds consists of photographs and negatives from the Georgia Straight newspaper photograph files, depicting demonstrations, conflicts, picnics, concerts, musicians, celebrities, and other events and individuals between 1960 and 1979.
Gilean Douglas was born in 1900 to a wealthy and socially prominent Toronto family. Orphaned at the age of 16, she began to turn away from her inherited lifestyle and the expectations of the class she was born into. She married in 1922, her husband assumed her last name, and then they set off on an adventurous automobile trip through the United States, which she recorded in a journal and photographs. The rest of the 1920s and the 1930s held two more marriages, much travel, and continued work as a photojournalist. During this time, Douglas also began to build a reputation as a poet. All in all, her writing career spanned much of the twentieth century. Her first poem was published when she was seven and, as a child, she was a regular contributor to the children's page of the Toronto News. In her late teens, she worked as a newspaper reporter, editor of the children's page, and a publicity writer. From 1961 to 1992, she wrote a regular column called “Nature Rambles” for the Victoria Colonist.
Photographic records date from the 1890s-1990s and include prints, framed portraits, slides, negatives, and film strips. A large assortment of photos documents her family and childhood. Pictures taken in the 1950s and 1960s fall into 3 main categories: black & white photos of the B .C. coast; color and black & white photos of communities in BC and eastern Canada; and pictures of Channel Rock. Aside from Douglas' own photographs, there are several interesting groups of other people's pictures in this collection: an album with pictures of overseas service during WWI; a group of labelled photographs of Baffin Island, Pangirtung, etc. taken in 1926/27 by an RCMP officer; and photographs from a trip around the world on a freighter in 1919.
Hanne Wassermann Walker was born in Vienna, Austria in 1893. As a young woman, she attended trade school, wherein she studied portrait photography, freehand drawing, chemistry, commercial/business math and writing, and more. After trade school, Hanne attended the Röntgen Institute, Vienna's first x-ray institute, where she learned about human anatomy and physical wellness. She went on to pioneer a series of stretches and exercises for women she called “The Hanne Wassermann Method,” which she described as a form of gymnastics. She focused not only on physical improvement, but also the psychology of fitness, achieving enough success to open a school in Vienna, teach at an upscale resort in Italy, work as a personal trainer, and advance her philosophy and fitness techniques through lectures, books, pamphlets, and newspaper/magazine articles. Following Nazi Germany’s 1938 annexation of Austria, Hanne and her family began making preparations to emigrate from Europe. She initially traveled, worked, and lived in other parts of Europe (Britain and Italy in particular), before moving to New York in December 1939, followed shortly afterwards by her mother and her partner, George. Her work took her to California until she eventually settled in Vancouver, B.C. Among other materials, the fonds consists of more than 3,000 photographs and negatives pertaining to her life and work as described.
The Haweis Family fonds contains materials related to various members of the Haweis family. Of particular relevance to women’s history is Mary Elizabeth Joy Haweis, who was an author of women's and children's books and whose book on Chaucer became a standard text for English schools. Her daughter Hugolin was a photographer, humourist, and writer and her granddaughter Renee Haweis Chipman was a writer, served in the Canadian Army Women's Corps, established the Lillooet Museum, and acted as its curator until her death in 1986. The fonds consists of photographs of the Haweis family, covering topics like family, friends, travel, and Renee’s military service.
The Icelandic Archives of British Columbia (IABC) was a community archives whose mission was to collect and maintain materials concerning the history of Icelanders and their descendants in British Columbia. The IABC was established in 1975 and curated privately by Robert Ásgeirsson, originally from Winnipeg, Manitoba. Soon after moving to Vancouver and engaging with the Icelandic Canadian Club of British Columbia, Ásgeirsson saw that the important cultural memory of the Icelandic experience on the West Coast could be lost, as the knowledge base was in the hands of only a few aging community members. He began to accumulate photographic collections donated by Icelandic families and photographers in B.C. With the support of the Icelandic community in Vancouver, the IABC continued its primary activities of expanding its collection to document Icelandic social and cultural endeavors, before eventually dissolving in 2015. The IABC fonds reflects the community collecting practices that the IABC undertook to preserve the history of Icelanders in British Columbia. It contains over 2,500 photographs.
Intermedia was established in 1967 as a non-profit society intending to fulfill a need in Vancouver’s artistic community for a central meeting place for creative minds. During its operational years, it sponsored exhibitions, workshops, educational seminars, and impromptu social and artistic gatherings. Gradually, Intermedia began to decline in importance as the spin-offs of the society became more important. While Intermedia Press, Ltd. had eclipsed its founding group by 1974, Intermedia Society had created and initiated an exciting new art scene in Vancouver and left in its wake many groups that have become central to the development of modern art and writing on the West Coast. The fonds consists of correspondence, documents, newspaper clippings, and printed material, such as art exhibitions, poetry readings, books, plays, magazines, newsletters, and visual art. The fonds also includes original art works and poetry, a sub-fonds relating to the Intermedia Press, and an Intermedia photographic collection with over 500 photos.
Isabella Starr was raised in Vancouver, B.C. and attended King Edward High School. Her fonds consists of two scrapbooks she created that feature photos of American movie stars of the silent movie era, such as Ramon Novarro, Richard Dix, Lillian Gish, and Gloria Swanson.
Miss J.E. Denison was secretary to former B.C. Premier Simon Fraser Tolmie. The fonds consists of a photo album entitled, "Caravaning to the Land of the Golden Twilight, June 13 - July 1, 1930," assembled by Denison. It includes a description of a motoring trip from Blaine, Washington to Hazelton, B.C., then to Vancouver, B.C. The caravan trip involved groups from the United States, Alaska, and British Columbia. The purpose of the caravan was to investigate the proposal for an Alaskan highway which would join up with the B.C. highway network.
John W. (Jack) Duggan was born in Toronto in 1919 and joined the RCMP in the early 1940s. In 1943, he was posted to the Slocan Valley, B.C., to supervise the Japanese internment camps, where he would work discontinuously between 1943 and 1947. The fonds consists of a scrapbook and photographs documenting the lives of Japanese Canadian internees in the Lemon Creek internment camp during WWII and their reunions after the war.
James Barclay was born in Scotland in 1903. After receiving his education, he moved to Shanghai, China to work as an engineering assistant. Leaving China in 1928 to reunite with his parents, he arrived at the port of Seattle and from there made his way to Vancouver, B.C. The fonds consists of photographs, mainly pertaining to Barclay's activities in China (1900s-1920s), Oregon (1920s), and B.C. (1930s-1950s) as well as related correspondence, memorabilia and clippings.
Jean Stewart Sheils was born in February 1927 in Vancouver, BC, the second child of Ethel and Arthur “Slim” Evans. Her father was a well-known labour rights organizer originally from Toronto, ON, who led the 1935 On-to-Ottawa Trek in which over 1,000 unemployed men rode the rails to Ottawa to appeal to the government for better working conditions at the government organized labour relief camps. This Trek ended in Regina on July 1st, 1935 when Trekkers and supporters were confronted with violence by the local police and RCMP. After her father’s death, Jean devoted her adult life to the cause he had believed in: fair work and wages. She was a founding member of the On-to-Ottawa Trek Committee that was formed in 1985 to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the Trek, which eventually resulted in the On-to-Ottawa Historical Society. As well as performing volunteer work for the labour rights cause, Jean and Ben Swankey co-wrote a book in 1977, entitled Work and Wages!, a semi-account of the life of Arthur “Slim“ Evans. The research collection consists of textual records, newspaper clippings, documents, photographs, printed material, audio cassettes, and a VHS video cassette relating to the life of Arthur Evans, the On-to-Ottawa Trek Committee, the On-to-Ottawa Historical Society, and Work and Wages! There are roughly 250 photographs included in the collection.
Born in Winnipeg, Manitoba in 1910, Jessie Miller worked briefly as an Anglican missionary in Saskatchewan before being posted to a church in Gifu, Japan. She worked largely with women and children, particularly those living with blindness, and spent the majority of her life in Japan until poor health forced her to return to Canada in 1969. The fonds consists of Miller's slides of missionaries, hospitals, and houses in Japan, including street scenes of Tokyo.
John Cooper Robinson was an Anglican missionary who lived and worked in Japan in the late 19th and early 20th century. He was born in rural Ontario in 1859 and went on to study at Wycliffe College, an Anglican Church seminary associated with the University of Toronto, in 1881. He was ordained as a priest in 1887 and then got married and moved to Japan the following year, where he was the first Canadian-sponsored missionary. Robinson and his wife spent most of their remaining years in Japan, returning to Canada for a few short furloughs. In addition to missionary work, Robinson was an avid photographer and captured life in Japan during the Meiji-Taisho period, when the country was transitioning away from feudal society. The fonds consists of over 4,600 photographic prints, negatives, glass lantern slides, and postcards—the majority of which were either taken or collected by Robinson. Many of the photographs relate to Robinson’s work as an Anglican missionary in Japan in the 1890’s through the 1920’s. Subject matter of the photographs includes everyday life, work, and scenery in Japan, as well as the lives and works of missionaries.
Leonard G. McCann was born in 1927 in Shanghai and attended St. Giles British School throughout his youth. During WWII, he and his mother Barbara were interned in a Japanese prisoner-of-war camp at Santo Tomas University in the Philippines. While interned, the McCanns participated in the functioning of the camp’s internal administration—Barbara as a Room Monitor and Leonard working in the gardens and hospital. Internees were liberated and evacuated from the camp in February 1945. The McCanns were taken by ship to San Francisco, California, but quickly relocated to Canada to avoid the U.S. Military draft. After the war, the McCanns came to Victoria, B.C. based on a sponsorship from Leonard’s aunt and uncle. He eventually found work as a CBC television operation in Vancouver and then worked briefly at CBC in Toronto, before returning to the West Coast to work for BCTV. In 1968, he joined the Vancouver Maritime Museum, where he worked as curator until his retirement in 1993.
The collection consists of pertaining to the Santo Tomas Interment Camp in the Philippines during WWII. The camp was active from 1942 to 1945 and housed over 4,000 prisoners-of-war. Records reflect the internal administrative structure and functioning of the camp, daily life of internees, political activities surrounding the camp, and the personal experiences of Barbara and Leonard McCann.
Lilian Emily Bland was born in September 1878 in Kent, England. Today, she is widely recognized as the first woman to design, construct, and fly her own aircraft. She was also an avid photographer, journalist, markswoman, equestrian, and motorist as well as an early settler of Northern Vancouver Island. As a young adult, Lilian journeyed around Europe, studying musical and visual arts along the way. In September 1909, she began modeling an idea for a biplane called the Mayfly, which she began to build in November. The plane flew successfully for approximately 10 metres and she thus became the first woman to design and fly her own aircraft. In 1912, she moved to Quatsino in Northern Vancouver Island, B.C., where she spent the next several years making a life for her daughter and husband, raising livestock, farming, making wine, and selling goods. After separating from her husband, she returned to England in 1934.
The fonds consists of 1,398 glass plate negatives, glass lantern slides, celluloid prints, and Lilian’s unpublished memoir. The photographs reflect the varied and unique life of Lilian and her family. Photographic subjects include: the Mayfly bi-plane; horseback riding and racing; family photographs; bird watching; her travels in Europe, California, and British Columbia; and her years spent as a settler living on the Quatsino Sound in Vancouver Island.
The collection consists of material created by Malcolm Lowry and others between 1910-1962, including his second wife Margerie Bonner Lowry as well as Dorothy Templeton and Carol Betty Atwater. It includes correspondence, signed autograph letters and postcards, multiple drafts of manuscripts, poems, phonograph records, clippings, reviews, articles, essays, typescripts, unpublished material, and photographs. Photographs include hundreds of snapshots and professional photographs of Malcolm and Marjorie Lowry, their friends, their houses, and their travels in B.C., the United States, Mexico, and Europe (primarily between 1939 and 1957).
The Mavis Hall collection comprises of a variety of printed and photographic materials collected by Margery McCuaig, Hall’s mother, during a trip to Japan that was sponsored by the Japanese Tourism Ministry and the Japanese Government Railways, from July-August of 1939. The collection contains commercially-produced slides, postcards and souvenir photographs, as well as Board of Tourism publications, prints, and a few personal items and memorabilia of McCuaig, such as a passport, scrapbook, and autograph book. McCuaig also collected ephemera from the time she spent on the cruise ship, including daily ship menus, news bulletins, travel brochures, and entertainment programmes that exhibit her experiences onboard.
Pauline Donalda – an operatic soprano, teacher, and administrator – was born Pauline Lightstone in Montreal in 1882. As a child, she studied singing on scholarship at the Royal Victoria College of McGill University. In 1902, she moved Paris on a grant from Donald A. Smith, where she continued her voice studies. In his honour, she subsequently adopted the stage name Donalda. She made her singing debut on stage in Nice, France, in 1904, from which she would go on to sing in the United States, Canada, and across Europe. Her collection consists of photographs of well-known 20th century opera singers, composers, musicians, and directors, as well as various ephemera. The majority of the photographs are signed and dedicated to Pauline Donalda by their subjects, often with personal comments.
The National Association of Japanese Canadians (NAJC) was formed in 1947 as the National Japanese Canadian Citizens’ Association (NJCCA) before it officially became the NAJC in 1980. Since its establishment, the association has focused on strengthening the Japanese Canadian community and advocating for the equality of human rights for all persons, especially racial and ethnic minorities. It provides leadership for the Japanese Canadian community in Canada at the national level, represents a number of chapters across the country, and was responsible for the Japanese Canadian Redress Movement beginning in the 1980s, whereby justice was sought for the acts of discrimination committed against Japanese Canadians during and after WWII by the Canadian government. The fonds consists of materials documenting the activities of the NAJC during four general time periods: the pre-redress period (including records of the NJCCA before it became the NAJC); the birth and development of the redress movement in the 1980s; the implementation of redress following the September 1988 settlement (1988-1992); and the post-implementation period (1993-present). Among these materials are over 200 photographs.
This collection comprises records acquired by Peter Moogk about aspects of British Columbia’s history, including the British Columbia Electric Railway Company’s interurban train lines (predominantly from 1909-1958) and photographs of places, events, and activities in the province. The collection includes five series: British Columbia Electric Railway Company records; portraits of persons; photos of places, streets, and architecture; photos of events and activities; and ephemera. The fifth series, British Columbia ephemera, is mostly paper ephemera representing the variety of business and activity in the province from 1890 to 1990, and includes menus, theatre programs, business correspondence, and Chinese textbooks as well as some photographic materials.
The collection consists of archival records, printed materials, photographs, maps, posters, artefacts and paintings all related to the Klondike Gold Rush. The collection is arranged into five series: Textual records, Photographic records, Graphic materials, Objects and sound recording, and Maps and plans. The Photographic records series contains photographic materials primarily originating during the Klondike Gold Rush at the turn of the 20th century. The photographs were generated as a result of the travels, mining endeavours, rapid development of towns and infrastructure in Alaska and the Yukon and Northwest Territories, and interactions of different cultures, including Indigenous peoples and settlers and stampeders from Canada, America, and around the world. Photographs in the series portray landscapes, mining scenes, portraits, travel scenes, town sites, community activities, and huge groups of stampeders on their way to the Klondike. Major photographic types include silver gelatin prints, cyanotypes, stereographs, panoramas, and prints. Photographs originated from commercial and well known photographers, such as E.A. Hegg and Asahel Curtis; many others were created by anonymous travellers who journeyed north and kept a photographic record of their journeys. The collection includes ca. 1800 photographs.
The collection consists of postcards, memorabilia, photographs, printed articles, other printed material relating to the activities of the RCMP and its various anniversaries and highlights.
Rudolph and Edith Crook were Canadians who served as Baptist medical missionaries in the Szechuan province of China between 1920 and 1950. The fonds consists of a manuscript, black-and-white and colour prints, and slide images relating to life in the Szechuan province of China (1920-1950). The manuscript is entitled A Trip to Tibet (Summer 1930) and the photographs chronicle a trip taken by the Crooks with fellow medics and missionaries. The considerable slide and print collections reveals aspects of the people, life, and topography of China during the time the Crooks lived and worked there.
The collection consists of research material created or collected by Olof Seaholm pertaining to Swedish immigration and organizations in Canada and North America. The collection mainly consists of general research material related to these themes, but there is some more specialized research into specific areas of Swedish Canadian history, such as the Scandinavian Central Committee and the International Order of Good Templars. Among the materials in the collection are 270+ photographs.
Tatsuo Kurihara is a professional photographer and freelance writer. The fonds consists of thirteen of Kurihara's photographs of Japanese Canadian fishermen, their families, and daily life in the fishing community of Steveston, B.C. between 1985-1986.
The Tiananmen Square collection is made up of 11 cassette tapes containing 12.5 hours of audio interviews recorded by Canadian lawyer Angela Codina during the time of the Tiananmen Square incident in 1989. Codina was residing in Macau at the time and traveled to Beijing in the midst of the unrest to conduct a series of interviews with the leaders of the uprising. She also participated in the uprising as a speaker at the gathering there, bringing greetings of solidarity as a Canadian to those who were present. The collection also consists of the following: written transcripts that were later made of the interviews; materials for a book written by Codina; newspaper clippings; periodicals and journals; correspondence; 274 photographic negatives; and 448 colour photographs.
The Tiananmen Square incident, also called June Fourth Incident or 6/4, was a culmination of a series of protests and demonstrations in China in the spring of 1989 that culminated on the night of June 3–4 with a government crackdown on the demonstrators in Tiananmen Square in Beijing. Although the demonstrations and their subsequent repression occurred in cities throughout the country, the events in Beijing—and especially in Tiananmen Square, historically linked to such other protests as the May Fourth Movement (1919)—came to symbolize the entire incident. The collection consists of 112 photographs donated by a citizen of China and a student who participated in the Tiananmen Square protests of 1989 and wishes to remain anonymous.
Western Miner was first published in the late 1920s as the British Columbia Miner. It reported on discoveries, the mine labour situation, progress of the industry, and other issues relating to the mining industry. The fonds consists of over 10,000 photographs of mines, mining activities, and mining personnel created and collected for use in the publication.