Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections: Canadian History

Related Archival Material

G. Vernon Wellburn British Columbia history collection

  • The collection consists of a letter from Sir John Franklin, Great Bear Lake, to Robert McVicar, 1826; a telegram from S.L. Tilley to Hon. Dr. Helmcken, April 1, 1871, referring to the admittance of British Columbia into Confederation, a document signed by Charles Dupont referring to a land transaction to what is now known as Vancouver, and an invitation to the opening of the new Parliament Buildings in Victoria, 1898.

French Canadian history collection

  • The collection, started at the turn of the century by Michaud, consists of documents, correspondence, and records relating to French-Canadian history. It includes transcripts and photographic copies of material in the Archives Nationales in Paris and Quebec and elsewhere.

H.R. MacMillan Canadian History collection

  • The collection consists of correspondence and documents belonging and pertaining to various figures and events in Canadian history. MacMillan assembled the material from various sources. Also included is a photograph of a logging scene in Vancouver (ca. 1900) and of East Indian workers at Canadian Western Lumber Company, ca. 1900-1910.

Doug and Joyce Cox Reasearch Collection

  • The collection reflects Doug Cox's career as a historian, author, and publisher, and Joyce Cox's research endevours. The collection includes photographs, manuscripts, maps, and audio recordings of oral histories. Themes treated include mining, ranching, forestry, agriculture and orchard cultivation, industry and infrastructure, landscapes and cityscapes, sports and recreation, community life, and family documentation.

Simpson family fonds

  • In total the fonds is comprised of approximately 2500 photographs, in various forms. Records provide documentation of legal proceedings, finances, substantial mill operations, safety initiatives, administration, civic engagement, publicity, and labour relations relating to mill business. Artifacts include wooden fruit boxes/baskets, a mill whistle, souvenir pencil, thermometer, plywood samples, ceremonial key, plaques, sawmill blade clock.

Uno Langmann Family Collection of BC Photographs

  • This collection consists of more than 18,000 rare and unique early photographs from the 1850s to the 1970s. It is considered the premiere private collection of early provincial photos, and an important illustrated history of early photographic methods. The photographs were taken by a wide range of photographers. Some well-known photographers represented in the collection include William Notman, Charles MacMunn, Frederick Dally, Charles Horetzky, Charles Gentile, Philip Timms, Yucho Chow, R. Maynard, and Leonard Frank. Images from the collection are being digitized on an ongoing basis and are available here.

Journals

Databases

UBC Open Collections

UBC Library's Open Collections include digital photos, books, newspapers, maps, videos, theses, and more. These publicly-accessible collections are constantly growing and reflect the research interests of the UBC community and beyond. To search these collections, click here

Related Websites

Associations