Alice in Wonderland Collection
Introduction
This part of the guide provides guidance on citing your sources. To learn more about citing materials at RBSC, click the relevant subpage on the left or click here. To learn more about citing archival finding aids, library catalogue records, and LibGuides, click on the relevant subpage on the left or click here.
Additional resources on citation are also provided below.
Why and How to Cite
Citations, aka, references give credit to others for their work and ideas and allow readers to track down the original work if they choose. By preparing your citations properly, you are taking part in scholarly discourse. Besides giving credit where credit is due, the reference list (also called bibliography, or works cited list) does several things:
- Suggests a list of further reading for those who are interested in learning more about your topic
- Provides a way to check facts and verify accuracy
- Supports the tracing backwards (and forwards) of the development of ideas over time
Style Guides
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Call Number: Z253 .U69 2010ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05This resource is also available online here.
MLA Handbook by Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-22This resource is also available online to UBC students, staff, and faculty here.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Additional UBC Guides on Citation
Additional Resources
More information about citing archival materials and rare books:
Citing archival sources (UBC Wiki)
Citing archival sources in MLA (Purdue OWL) and Citing digital archival material (Purdue OWL)
Citing archival sources in APA, Chicago, and MLA (Dalhousie University)
Citing rare books in Chicago style (Carleton University)
More resources on citation:
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and provides them as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.
The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition. It's run by a group of experts who work with APA Style every day.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition, online, along with a citation quick guide, tutorials, and users' forum
The MLA Style Center is the official companion to the MLA Handbook, Ninth Edition. It includes examples of citations by format, a quick citation template, and FAQs.
More Help at UBC
Questions about copyright? Not sure if you're allowed to use an image? Tricky citation problem?
Contact UBC's Copyright Office
Questions about plagiarism, style, and the writing process?
See resources from the Chapman Learning Commons' Writing Centre
Curious about citation management software?
UBC Library hosts a variety of workshops. Filter events by categories including citation management, copyright, writing, and more.