HIST 145: Contemporary World History

Indexes a wide range of material relating to Africa. Includes monographs, book chapters, journal articles and casual publications. Not restricted by language. Coverage extends back to the mid nineteen-eighties.

Over 40 19th- and 20th-century African newspapers featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. There are currently two content areas: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa.

Foreign and Colonial Office documents concerning Africa

British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980.

Includes 5.4 million cross-searchable pages: 12,052 books, 170 serials, 71 manuscript collections, 377 US supreme court records and briefs, and 194 reference articles from scholarly encyclopedias.

An important portal for slavery and abolition studies. Topics covered include the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, social justice issues and the continued existence of slavery today.

Reports on business, government, economic, environmental and social issues in 55 countries in the Asia-Pacific region.

The South Asia Archive is Full-Text Online database and it provides a specialist digital platform for historically significant literary material about the South Asia.

Drawing upon the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this collection looks at History of South Asia.

The South China Morning Post - an English language newspaper published in Hong Kong - is renowned for its authoritative and influential reporting on Hong Kong, China and all of Asia. It is highly regarded by researchers because of the unique history of Hong Kong as well as the newspaper’s editorial perspective on Imperial Japan and Communist China. With searchable, full text coverage from South China Morning Post’s origin in 1903 up to and including 1997, users will be able to search the entirety of the newspaper including advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and photographs that illuminate history as much as the news articles.

1200 English-language pamphlets from 1750-1929 relating to China.

Primary-source materials from the eighteenth- and nineteenth-centuries relating to trade and cultural exchange between China and America.

The English-language North China Herald is the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to 1940s.

Includes a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.

The complete British Foreign Office Files for the period concerning China, Hong Kong and Taiwan.

Full text access to the English language daily newspaper founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India.

Foreign and Colonial Office documents relating to the Middle East

An outstanding resource for the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Full text of 35 newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.

Foreign and Colonial Office documents concerning Latin America.

Digital archive of Latin American literary magazine SUR. Contains images of the complete run of the magazine (including covers, photographs and advertisements) with an interface in both Spanish & English.