Research Guides: Evidence based Health Care (EBHC): Key Resources

Core Databases

ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window
Concise evaluative commentaries on original studies and reviews from key clinical journals. By the American College of Physicians (ACP).
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) This link opens in a new window
Citations to controlled trials identified by the contributors of the Cochrane Collaboration.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to regularly updated systematic reviews by the Cochrane Collaboration. Includes completed systematic reviews and review protocols in development.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) This link opens in a new window
The collection of reviews of reviews provides critical assessments of systematic reviews. It was produced by the UK National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) between 1994 and March 2015.
EBM Reviews (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
One-stop searching of 7 evidence-based medicine databases in the Cochrane Library.

More Databases

CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
Key database in nursing and allied health.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
Additional features, including a presentation maker, the ability to download PDF versions of ebook chapters, customize patient handouts or save content in a personal profile, are available to users who create a free account. Click 'Register' at the top right of the ClinicalKey landing page to create a free account.
Dynamed This link opens in a new window
A point-of-care reference tool containing clinically-oriented summaries for 3,200+ topics.
EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
International (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Premier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
PubMed (1946 - present) This link opens in a new window
Premier database containing over 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.

Journal: Evidence-Based Medicine for Primary Care and Internal Medicine

Search PubMed using Clinical Queries

Clinical Queries
Search PubMed Clinical Queries

Search PubMed

CMAJ Article Collections: Evidence-based Medicine

Free sites

BioMedCentral
BioMed Central publishes 244 peer-reviewed open access journals. UBC Library pays for a Supporters Membership which entitles UBC authors to a 15% discount on the article-processing charge.
BMJ Case Reports: Evidence based practice
Free Medical Journals
Free Medical Journals is a website that tracks which medical journals provide, free or partially-free content. Journals are ranked by popularity.
HighWire Free Online Full Text Articles
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
PubMed Central
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).