Skip to Main Content
Population, Development & Demography
- World Population Prospects
Produced by the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division, Population Estimates and Projections Section. Provides Data, Tables, and an Online Population Database.
- US Census Bureau - International Data Base
Offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. The demographic data includes: birth, death rates and growth rates, migration rates, infant mortality and life expentancy, country summaries, population pyramids, world population information, and country rankings.
- Population Reference Bureau
Provides information about population, health, and the environment. Analyzes complex demographic data and research to provide the most objective, accurate, and up-to-date population information.
- UN Demographic Yearbook. HA17.D45
An international compendium of national demographic statistics, provided by national statistical authorities to the Statistics Division of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Contains general tables including a world summary of selected demographic statistics, statistics on the size, distribution and trends in national populations, natality, foetal mortality, infant and maternal mortality, general mortality, nuptiality and divorce.
- World Development Indicators. HC59.59.W682
The World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. Includes more than 800 indicators in over 80 tables organized in 6 sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links.
- Population and Vital Statistics Report. HB881.U5
Presents the most recent data on population size (total, male and female) from the latest available census of the population, national official population estimates, and the number and rate (births, deaths and infant deaths) for the latest available year within the past 15 years. Also presents estimates of the mid-year population of the world, with its various areas and regions.
Issues from 2006 to present are available online.
- The World's Women 2010: Trends and Statistics
Current issue highlights the differences in the status of women and men in eight areas – population and families, health, education, work, power and decision-making, violence against women, environment and poverty. Analyses are based mainly on statistics from international and national statistical sources.
Issues also available from 1990, 1995, 2000, and 2005. Print copies are available here.
- World Bank Data
The World Bank has collected statistical data for over 550 development indicators, and time series data from 1960 onward for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
Print version available as World Development Indicators.
- OECD.Stat (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
Enables users to search for and extract data from across OECD's many databases included in SourceOECD Statistics. Provides access to around 300 datasets.
To access OECD.Stat, select the Statistics tab from the OECD iLibrary site, then select OECD.Stat under the Databases column. On the next page, click on the round pink icon (it should say "Access Database" if you hover above it), which will lead you to the datasets. Click on the Demography and Population heading and choose "Migration Statistics" or "Population Statistics."
- Millenium Development Goals Indicators
This UNStats site presents the official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals.