Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries: General, historical and etymological
Dictionaries: Old French to 17th century
Dictionaries: Cultural and literary
Indexes to periodicals, books, book chapters etc
More than 1.1 million citations for secondary source material about the European Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
Klapp-online: Bibliographie d'histoire littéraire française
The annual volumes, in electronic form, of the Klapp Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft/Bibliographie d'histoire littéraire française for the years 1991-2011. Includes articles, books and book reviews. See the print volumes in KR reference, ZPQ99 .B4, for earlier years beginning with 1956.
MLA international bibliography
Indexes the scholarship of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Coverage extends back to the 1920's and is international in scope.
An important initiative that brings together more than 380 French-language journals (both academic and popular) along with monographs and reference works in the humanities and social sciences. Journal coverage extends back to the early- mid- 2000s.
A multi-institutional publishing consortium (Université de Montréal, Université Laval, Université du Québec à Montréal) established in 1998. The leading platform for Canadian Francophone academic journals, with over 150 titles, it also includes the full text of books, research centre reports and theses from Québec universities.
The back runs of significant French journals in the humanities. Also includes access to the full-text of some monographic series.
Offers 570,000 references to French-language periodicals with full text for 22,000 articles and links to 92,000 others via Érudit and CAIRN.
Text and image collections
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
Founded in 1982 as the result of a collaboration between the government of France and the University of Chicago, ARTFL is a consortium-based service that provides members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources. ARTFL's principal database, ARTFL-FRANTEXT comprises more than 3500 texts ranging from classic literary to various examples of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
Full-text images of more than 2.5 million documents. Includes printed books, manuscripts, maps, images, periodicals, scores and sound recordings.
French books before 1601
There is a a reel guide housed in the Koerner microforms vertical file. There is also an author and title list, with reel numbers, at http://www.proquest.com/assets/downloads/titlelists/serials/frenchbks.pdf.
French books 1601-1700
There is a a reel guide housed in the Koerner microforms vertical file. Reel numnbers for individual items can also be found by searching the Center for research libraries catalogue, http://www.crl.edu/. Select 'advanced search' and specify 'French books 1601-1700' in 'any field' and 'microfilm' in 'reproduction type'.