Research Guides: Mining Engineering: Standards

CSA Standards

CSA OnDemand
Through UBC Library, you have access to Complete CSA Collection (No IT). In this package you will find, with the exception of IT and Telecommunication standards, a collection of all CSA's standards and standards-related documents such as handbooks, guidelines and commentaries. Includes all current and historical standards in English and French with the exception of IT and Telecommunication standards.Standards updated immediately as they are published.

Note: CSA standards can be downloaded as PDFs on-campus or on the VPN using Adobe Acrobat Reader

Looking for more CSA standards?

CSA's OnDemand database is the first place you should look for CSA standards. However, there are additional sources for CSA standards as well.

Superseded CSA Standards (195? - 1995) are in the ASRS storage in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre. Request these through the Library's CSA Standards Collection online record. Note: When selecting the appropriate box, scroll through the entire list of holdings to find the superseded standards.
The CCOHS database has many CSA standards in their Legislation section
The CSA Community Group (free registration required) provides some view access to a selection of standards.

If you are unable to find what you're looking for, contact a librarian under the Getting Started page in this guide.

Techstreet

UBC Library provides access to a selection of ISO standards through Techstreet, a standards aggregator.

Connect to Techstreet

You will know you are connected to Techstreet as the UBC logo appears on the page.

Make sure you have FileOpen installed in order to read the PDFs. You can download and install FileOpen from the Dashboard page in the Subscription column (left hand side), under Tools at the bottom of the page (see image below).

Techstreet screenshot

ASTM

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Collection of industry-leading standards covering a broad range of engineering disciplines including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

Over 300 procedural videos are featured in selected standards on the Compass platform.

Older ASTM standards in print will be found in the ASRS at Irving K Barber Learning Centre.

Note: Access to the American Petroleum Institute standards is available until September 15, 2020