Legal Encyclopedias

Legal Encyclopedias

Legal encyclopedias

are multi-volume sets that provide overviews of the law on a full range of legal topics
have commentary providing references and footnotes to primary sources, including relevant cases and legislation
are not exhaustive; they won’t refer you to all of the law on a subject

Check the currency date of the information, as some topics may be a bit dated, & read the cases and statutes cited before relying on them.

Canada

Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (Western)
Call Number: Reference Room (level 2): KE156.2 .C364
or online via Westlaw Edge Canada
The print format:
• Multi-volume set, with both Western (focuses on federal law & provincial law from the 4 western provinces) & Ontario versions
• INDEX volume facilitates access to the alphabetically-arranged topics (called Titles)
• Every Title includes: Table of Contents, Table of Cases, Table of Statutes, Table of Rules & Regulations (if applicable) & subject index
• Grey-edged supplements at the front of most Titles brings research up-to-date
Halsbury’s Laws of Canada
Call Number: Reference Room (level 2): KE180 .H34
or online via Lexis+ or Lexis Advance Quicklaw Plus
The print format:
• Bound volumes with Cumulative Supplement that provides commentary and references to case law & statutes on a full range of Canadian legal topics
• Each Title (or topic) is authored by Canadian expert(s)
• Includes: Table of Contents, List of Related Titles, Table of Cases, Table of Statutes, Index, and Glossary of Definitions (which identifies words & phrases defined in legislation, relevant to the Title’s subject matter)
• Companion Guide and Consolidated Index facilitates access to all Titles covered in the main volumes
Canadian Encyclopedia
Canada's national encyclopedia covering all branches of knowledge. Includes more than 35,000 articles in English and French.

Law - Beginning Your Research