Law Library at Allard Hall
Australia
- Australian Indigenous Law Library (AustLII)AustLII search page customized to search databases specific to indigenous law.
- National Native Title TribunalWebsite of the National Native Title Tribunal, with procedural and substantive information about registration of native title in Australia; see especially information booklets commemorating landmark native title determinations through the federal court system and through Indigenous Land Use Agreements
- Mabo: Ten Years On (Parliament of Australia Parliamentary Library)Short summary of key legal developments and native title cases since Mabo v. Queensland [No. 2], (1992) 175 CLR 1, to 2002.
- Australia, Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission, Bringing Them Home: Report of the National Inquiry into the Separation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Children from their FamiliesLandmark report resulting from inquiry into removal of indigenous children from their families; web page also contains links to related 2008 apology from federal government of Australia and other related resources. Also available in print at LAW LIBRARY level 3: GN666 .A52 1997.
International
- Indigenous Law Journal (University of Toronto Faculty of Law)
This link opens in a new window
Student-edited legal journal with focus on Canadian and international indigenous legal issues; available on HeinOnline through UBC. Available in print at LAW LIBRARY level 4: KM208.431.I52 L38 [v.1 (2002) - v.12:1 (2014)]. - Tribal Law Journal (University of New Mexico School of Law)Online-only journal featuring articles on the internal law of indigenous peoples in the United States and internationally.
- Canadian Journal of Native StudiesArticles on a variety of issues (including legal) affecting indigenous peoples in Canada and worldwide. Available in print at XWI7XWA LIBRARY journals (non-circulating).
- Indigenous Law (University of Auckland)
- Bibliography of Native North Americans (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Library subscription database of citations for interdisciplinary books, journals and periodicals relating to indigenous peoples in North America. - United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs Indigenous PeoplesAccess to reports on issues affecting indigenous peoples worldwide; see especially country reports of the Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.
New Zealand
- Te Kāhui Whakatau (Treaty Settlements)Includes settlement information, settlement documents, protection mechanism information and quarterly reports.
- Maori Land CourtWebsite of the Maori Land Court and Maori Appellate Court with access to judgments (limited coverage: MLC from 2010, MAC from 1993).
- Waitangi TribunalWebsite of the permanent commission on inquiry which has the authority to investigate claims of breach of the Treaty of Waitangi.
- NZLII (New Zealand Legal Information Institute)Specialty legal information database, with access to current and historical New Zealand legislation, case law, and selected journals; coverage for Maori Land Court judgments from 1996.
- Maori Law Review (via HeinOnline)Legal journal which reviews and comments on judicial developments affecting Maori.
United States
- American Indian Law Collection (via HeinOnline)Includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
- American Indian Law Research Guide (University of California Berkeley Law Library)Comprehensive research guide on American Indian Law.
- American Indian Law ReviewLAW LIBRARY level 4: K1.A44 I52 or online
.
Student-edited legal journal addressing federal Indian law. - National Indian Law Library (Native American Rights Fund)Website of the National Indian Law Library, with access to Indian Law Bulletins which tracks and summarizes state and federal cases, regulatory notices, federal bills, news, and secondary sources on American Indians; Federal Indian law research guide last updated 2008 and tribal law research guide last updated 2007.
- U.S. Senate Committee on Indian AffairsWebsite of the standing Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, with access to bills introduced in recent session; also linked to legislative information pages on Library of Congress website.
Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law by Call Number: LAW LIBRARY (level 3): KF8205 .C6 2012Publication Date: 2012Well-regarded textbook on American Indian Law.
American Indian Tribal Law by Call Number: XWI7XWA LIBRARY stacks: H F54 A44 2011Publication Date: 2011Examines the development of tribal justice systems from pre-contact, through colonization, and into our modern era of self-government. Describes modern tribal government activities and explores how disputes are resolved within American Indian nations.
The Rights of Indians and Tribes by Call Number: XWI7XWA LIBRARY reference (non-circulating): HU P48 R54 2012Publication Date: 2012Addresses the most significant legal issues facing Indians and Indian tribes today, including tribal sovereignty, the federal trust responsibility, the regulation of non-Indians on reservations, Indian treaties, the Indian Civil Rights Act, the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act, and the Indian Child Welfare Act.
American Indian Law Deskbook & 2011 Supplement by Publication Date: 2009Provides historical and legal framework to understand the complexities faced by states, Indian tribes, and the federal government in Indian country. Includes information from more recent court decisions, federal statutes, administrative regulations, and law reviews. Supplement reviews cases issued, as well as statutes and administrative rules adopted between 2010-2011.
