Research Guides: MEDD 431 Clerkship : UBC Library Resources

Key Online Collections

The collection to support the medical program is quite robust. We acquire packages, large collections of books, journals, clinical overviews, point-of-care tools, study guides etc. all housed in one web portal. Two examples of these are ClinicalKey and Access Medicine.

Here we have highlighted new and existing resources to support your research and praxis in Year 3 Clerkship.

Please reach out to your UGME librarians any time for help navigating these resources.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Approximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, and a USMLE self-assessment tool and 50+ clinical cases.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
Additional features, including a presentation maker, the ability to download PDF versions of ebook chapters, customize patient handouts or save content in a personal profile, are available to users who create a free account. Click 'Register' at the top right of the ClinicalKey landing page to create a free account.
Oxford Medicine Online This link opens in a new window
The digital platform hosts Oxford University Press' medical titles; over 1000 books in the collection.

Video and Image Resources

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Series of anatomy lessons on video using unembalmed human specimens to illustrate anatomical structures.

AnatomyTV This link opens in a new window
Interactive 3D anatomy tool
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th edition (Streaming Videos) This link opens in a new window
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination is an updated collection of online videos of the classic textbook on physical examination and history taking.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Contains 300+ procedure videos. Search for a specific topic or select 'browse' to view the complete collection.
Additional features, including a presentation maker, the ability to download PDF versions of ebook chapters, customize patient handouts or save content in a personal profile, are available to users who create a free account. Click 'Register' at the top right of the ClinicalKey landing page to create a free account.
Concept Media Streaming Video Collection This link opens in a new window
A streaming collection of health videos. Covers topics such as 3-lead EKG, respiratory disorders, cardiac disorders, dementia, diabetes, elder issues, infection control, respiratory disorders, & urine elimination.

Reaching Teens
Created to benefit all professionals who serve adolescents, Reaching Teens integrates a trauma-sensitive model with the core belief that identifying, reinforcing, and building on inherent strengths can facilitate positive youth development. In this 2nd edition, more than 400 videos combine with written chapters to show how strength-based communication engages and empowers teens.
Dermatology eBooks
A selected list of recent dermatology ebooks, including books about black and brown skin.