Xwi7xwa Library Guide
Reconciling Difficult Colonial Truths : Literature for Children and Youth
Reconciling Difficult Colonial Truths: Literature for Children and Youth
This panel, from School Library Day 2016, addresses ways in which literature for young people can address and respond to shared colonial legacies. Panelists Gordon Powell (Mi'kmaq), Julie Flett (Cree-Métis), Maggie De Vries, and Arushi Raina speak to reconciling difficult colonial truths through children's literature, to how children’s literature can "be decolonized and made appropriate for 21st century learners", and to the roles that "writers, illustrators, teachers, teacher-librarians and children’s librarians play in the process".
Featured Articles
- The Importance of Grandparents in Indigenous Children's LiteratureNancy Cooper. Canadian Children's Book News 44, no. 2 (2021): 18-21.
- Talking back to history in Indigenous picturebooksRoxanne Harde. International Research in Children's Literature 13 (2): 274-288. (2020).
- An Interview with Debbie ReeseAlexia Angton, Debbie Reese, Katie Anthony. Journal of critical thought & praxis, 06/2020
- "I still isn't for Indian": a look at recent publishing about Native AmericansNina Lindsay. Library Journal (2003).
- "We are still here": an Interview with Debbie ReeseNational Council of Teachers of English. English Journal, 106:1 (2016).
- Colonialism in Wizarding America: J. K. Rowling’s History of Magic in North America through an Indigenous LensAlison Mills. The Looking Glass, 19:1 (2016).
- A different drum: Native American writingCynthia Letitch Smith. Horn Book Magazine (2002).
- Indigenizing Children's LiteratureDebbie Reese. Journal of Language and Literacy Education, 4:2 (2008).
- Proceed with Caution: Using Native American Folktales in the ClassroomDebbie Reese. Language Arts 84, no. 3 (2007): 245-256.
Selected Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals, magazines, and newspapers published in Canada in the fields of business, current events, education and general reference.
- ERIC (Educational Resource Information Centre)Indexes over 980 educational and education-related journals with many full text articles. The content is primarily American but also includes some Canadian First Nations content.
(Use Subject: "Native American" AND "Children's Literature") - Modern Language Association (MLA) BibliographyAn index to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes 1926 to the present.
(Use Subject: "Native American" AND "Children's Literature") - Summon SearchUse UBC's Summon search engine to find articles. Try limiting your results using the filters on the left side of the screen to "scholarly journals" while excluding newspaper articles.
(Try searching: "Aboriginal" AND "Children's Literature" AND Canada)