Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FNH 325 - Food Science Laboratory I

Databases

Find journal articles, conference papers, reports, etc., about topics in Food Science. What is a library database?

Library Databses to start with:

  • UBC Library Summon
    A good place to start your general search - you can limit to articles or books.
  • FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts)
    Indexes literature in all aspects of food science, food products and food processing, including biotechnology, economics, marketing, legislation and packaging.
  • Web of Science
    All areas of science including chemistry, useful for finding articles that have cited a particular article

Other useful databases:

Tips for database searching:

  • Background information:
    Enables you to focus your topic and to learn new vocabulary to formulate a decent search. Use encyclopedias, textbooks or Google to identify good search terms.
  • Thesaurus:
    Most databases have a list of subject headings used to describe the articles. Some databases (e.g. FSTA) will suggest subject headings when you enter a keyword (i.e. mapping).
  • Subject headings:
    In addition to the thesaurus, if you find a really good article, look at the Complete Reference to see what subject headings were used to describe it.
  • Combining terms:
    Use AND, OR, NOT to combine your ideas.
  • Truncation:
    Search variant endings of a word, e.g. enzym* will search enzyme, enzymes and enzymatic
  • Limits:
    Narrow your results by year or language.
  • See also: Library Research Skills for Land and Food Systems tutorial: http://guides.library.ubc.ca/tutorial-lfs​ 

Finding Books

Find books and more using the Summon

TIP: to find a book by title, use Advanced Search (Field Searching)

Citing sources

  • It is important to learn to cite your sources and avoid plagiarism.
  • For journal articles, make sure you have the following information: author, title, source, volume, issue, page numbers and year of publication.
  • New RefWorks
    Make your life easier by using a web-based citation management tool.