Finding Articles
UBC Library subscribes to over 900 indexes and databases, which are subject-specific search engines for finding academic articles and other research materials. The following databases are a good place to start your search for articles. Try a few searches using your search terms (e.g., "Hyalella azteca" and habitat).
- Web of Science Core CollectionMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- Zoological RecordCore database of articles and supplementary materials containing the world's zoological and animal science literature. Searchable on the Web of Science platform.
You can also use Summon to find articles.Summon is a single access point to find most of the UBC Library collections including: peer-reviewed articles, newspaper articles, theses and dissertations, and conference proceedings.
Finding books
You can use Summon to find books on your topic. Start with a broad keyword search, and try a search with the scientific name for your organism.
Google Scholar, Summon, & Subject Databases
Saltwater Organisms Search Words (Term 1)
Saltwater Organisms:
- Gammarus setosus or Lagunogammarus setosus (gammaridean amphipod)
- Hemigrapsus oregonensis/Hemigrapsus nudus (shore crab)
- Littorina spp. (marine snail, periwinkle)
For the broader classification of these organisms (and therefore additional search terms), use the NCBI Taxonomy Browser
Terrestrial Organisms: Search Words (Term 2)
Terrestrial Organisms:
- Acheta domesticus (cricket)
- Porcellio scaber (sowbug, woodlouse)
- Cepaea nemoralis (grovesnail)
- Tribolium molitor (meal worm beetle)
For the broader classification of these organisms (and therefore additional search terms), use the NCBI Taxonomy Browser
References Sources
- Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)An online encyclopedia of animals, plants, fungi, protists, and bacteria with text, images, video, maps, and data.
- NCBI TAxonomy BrowserFor browsing the taxonomic structure or for retrieving sequence data for a particular group of organisms
Research Help
- Visit the Information Desk at Woodward Library during reference hours or phone / email the Information Desk at 604-822-4440 / wd.ref@ubc.ca
- Chat online with librarians via AskAway