Research Help
Getting Started
This guide is intended to help student researchers of Linguistic Anthropology. The guide was created for ANTH 217 taught by Dr. Pat Moore (Winter 2019).
The goal of the course is to familiarize students with contemporary approaches to the analysis of communication in diverse cultural contexts. The course is ethnographically oriented in that students will consider descriptions of communication from around the world. These case studies include studies focusing on the cultural characteristics of communication, cross-cultural communication, gendered features of communication, and communication through media. Within each of these themes we will consider theoretical issues relating to the social functions of communication, cultural identity, ethnicity, power, and ideology.
Reviews and Bibliographies
Oxford Bibligraphies Online - Anthropology
Overview articles for more than 180 topics in anthropology and archaeology. Each article includes citations to and contextualization of key works on a topic. Bibliographies relevant to ANTH 217 include:
- Language and Urban Place
- Language Socialization
- Language and Race
- Code-switching and Multilingualism
- Media Anthropology
- Literacy
Annual Review of Anthropology
Comprehensive critical reviews on topics in Anthropology. The reviews summarize a topic and guide you to the principal contributions of the field. Search the archives for your topic to see if a review has been written on your area of research.
Reference/Background Information
Reference materials provide background information on a topic and are especially useful at the beginning of a research project . They can help you get an overview of a topic, define terms, theories, and persons in the field, and find further readings written by experts in the field.
The Routledge Handbook of Language and Culture by a clear and accessible introduction to both interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary studies of language and culture, and addresses key issues of language and culturally based linguistic research from a variety of perspectives and theoretical frameworks.
The Handbook of Language, Gender, and SexualityExamines the dynamic ways that women and men develop and manage gendered identities through their talk, presenting data and case studies from interactions in a range of social contexts and different communities Includes new chapters on research in non-English speaking countries - from Asia to South America - and cutting-edge topics such as language, gender, and popular culture;language and sexual identities; and language, gender, and socio-phonetics
The Cambridge Handbook of SociolinguisticsISBN: 9780521897075As well as linguistic perspectives, the handbook includes insights from anthropology, social psychology, the study of discourse and power, conversation analysis, theories of style and styling, language contact and applied sociolinguistics.
The SAGE Handbook of Gender and CommunicationThis handbook examines the primary contexts in which gender and communication are shaped, reflected, and expressed: interpersonal, organizational, rhetoric, media, and intercultural/global.
The Handbook of Language SocializationISBN: 9781405191869Publication Date: 2011-08-04Spans the fields of anthropology, education, applied linguistics, and human development. Includes the latest developments in second and heritage language socialization, and literary and media socialization. Discusses socialization across the entire life span and across institutional settings, including families, schools, work places, and churches.
