Summon is the UBC Library's meta-discovery tool that searches the UBC Library catalogue as well as multiple databases covering newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. Enter the film title using quotation marks, director's last name, and year.
After your search results display, you can broaden your results to include newspaper reviews: on the left under Content Type uncheck the box Exclude Newspaper Articles.
Film & Television Literature Index is the definitive index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.
This essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), indexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.
Full text of almost 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail, National Post and the Vancouver Sun. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s. Content is updated daily.
Provides access to full-text film reviews from scholarly and general magazines, as well as film review sections from major newspapers from 1981 onwards. Search tip: add the word review to your search by title and director.
Please limit number of articles downloaded to 100 per session. Please stick to that limit.