Psychology

Key Manuals and Reference Books

• American Psychiatric Association, 2013. Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.).  https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596.
   
• American Psychological Association. (2019). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. BF76.7 .P83 2010. APA does not offer an ebook edition for sale to libraries.
  Formats for commonly cited materials are described in UBC Library's APA Citation Style Guide.
   
• Howitt, D. (2017). First steps in research and statistics: A practical workbook for psychology students. Abingdon: Routledge 
   
• Norcross, J. C., VandenBos, G. R., Freedheim, D. K., Domenech Rodriguez, M. M., Olatunji, B. O., Krishnamurthy, R. (2016). APA handbook of clinical psychology (First ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
  
• Wright, J. D. (2015). International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (Second ed.). GB: Elsevier.
  
  Each of the resources below includes multiple titles:
• Oxford Handbooks Online (Psychology)
• Oxford  Scholarship Online (Psychology)
• Oxford Scholarship Online (Neuroscience)
   
• Heffernan, T. M. (2016).  Student's guide to Studying Psychology.  (Fourth ed.). New York;London;: Psychology Press.

This list is a sample of books in the UBC Library collection on research methods and analysis in psychology.  Search in Summon, the search box on the library homepage, to find more. 

Cooper, H. M.(2012). APA handbook of research methods in psychology (1st ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.

• Vol 1: Foundations, planning, measures, and psychometrics. 
• Vol 2: Research designs: Quantitative, qualitative, neuropsychological, and biological. 
• Vol 3: Data analysis and research publication.

• Coolican, H. (2017) Research methods and statistics in psychology. Abingdon: Psychology Press.
• Crawley, M. J.(2013;2012;). The R book  (2nd. ed.). Chichester, West Sussex:  UK: John Wiley & Sons.
• Groh, A. (2018). Research methods in Indigenous contexts. Cham: Springer. doi:10.1007/978-3-319-72776-9
• Hempel, S. (2020). Conducting your literature review. American Psychological Association. doi:10.1037/0000155-000
• Rasch, D., Kubinger, K. D., Yanagida, T. (2011). Statistics in psychology using R and SPSS. Chichester, West Sussex, UK: John Wiley & Sons.
• Willig, C., Stainton Rogers, W. (2017). The SAGE handbook of qualitative research in psychology (Second ed.). Thousand Oaks, California: SAGE Publications.

SAGE Research Methods Online
More than  220,000 pages of SAGE’s  book, journal, and reference content in a web-portal format, covering both qualitative and quantitative research in social and behavioral science.

• Baldwin, S. A., & APA PsycBOOKS. (2018;2017;). Writing your psychology research paper (First ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000045-000
• Jegede, F., Hargreaves, C., Smith, K., Hodgson, P., Todd, M. J., & Waldman, J. (2020). Writing successful undergraduate dissertations in social sciences: A Student’s handbook (2nd ed.) Routledge. doi:10.4324/978042928825
• Kail, R. V. (2015). Scientific writing for psychology: Lessons in clarity and style. SAGE.  BF76 .K35 2015 Koerner Stacks
• Landrum, R. E. (2012). Undergraduate Writing in Psychology: learning to tell the scientific story (Rev. ed.) American Psychological Association.  BF76.7 .L36 2012 Koerner & Okanagan Stacks.
• Miller, S. A. (2014;2013;) Writing in psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. doi:10.4324/9781315869841
• Seligman, R. A., & Mitchell, L. A. (2022;2021;). The student survival guide for research methods in psychology. Taylor & Francis Group.