Become an Expert Searcher
PsycInfo
UBC Library subscribes to PsycInfo on the EBSCOhost platform.
- PsycInfo Quick Reference Guide
- Using the Methodology Limiter in APA PsycInfo on EBSCOhost
- Creating a Search Alert in EBSCOhost
PubMed
Scopus
Web of Science Core Collection
Vancouver Research Help
Elizabeth Cardoso Fernandes
She/ Her/ Hers
Contact:
Humanities & Social Sciences Division
Walter C. Koerner Library
1958 Main Mall
Vancouver, BC
V6T 1Z2
Walter C. Koerner Library
1958 Main Mall
Vancouver, BC
V6T 1Z2
604 827 0249
Okanagan Research Help
Kim Buschert
she/her/hers
AskAway
Core article databases
-
Google ScholarMultidisciplinary search engine for academic research articles. Connect via this link for off-campus access to the full text of articles, via UBC eLink.
-
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Premier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
-
PsycInfo (Includes full text from PsycArticles) (via EBSCO)Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
You can learn more about navigating PsycInfo here : https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL25A8CEBA08C0E7AB -
PubMed (1946 - present)Premier database containing over 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.
-
ScopusSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation. Covers a different group of journals than Web of Science.
-
Web of Science Core CollectionSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation. Covers a different group of journals than Scopus.
Related databases
-
Classics in the History of PsychologyMore than 25 books and 200 seminal articles in the early development of psychology.
-
CogprintsArchive of freely available preprints and reprints in cognitive psychology, neuroscience and linguistics.
-
Canada CommonsSearchable access to current public documents issued by Canadian public policy and health research agencies and think tanks, as well as books from over 70 Canadian publishers.
-
CINAHL (via EBSCOhost) - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health LiteratureKey database in nursing and allied health.
-
ERIC (EBSCO interface)Most comprehensive education index, covering nearly 1000 journals, primarily American. Also indexes ERIC documents, including conferences, curricula, reports etc. ERIC (EBSCO) includes many links to full text.
-
MEDLINE (via EBSCOhost)Premier international index to biomedical research covering more than 5000 journals and indexing over 22 million citations from 1946 to present.
-
HaPI - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (OvidSP)Database provides access to evaluation and measurement tools designed to facilitate health and psychosocial studies.
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)The main article index for Linguistics. Indexes journals, books, technical reports, papers, dissertations, and book reviews in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
-
Mental Measurements Yearbook (now includes Tests in Print)A comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments - personality, aptitude, neuropsychology, achievement, intelligence, etc. The full text of the tests is not included.
-
PTSD Pubs (Formerly PILOTS)Multi-disciplinary index on traumatic stress and mental health.
-
PsyArXiv PreprintsResearch that has not yet been published or peer-reviewed, including articles under review and working papers.
-
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature - Full TextRLM is a comprehensive resource. Topics include pitch discrimination and production, cognitive benefits of playing music, etc,
-
Sociology CollectionIncludes Sociological Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and full text from the journals included in Sociology Database.
Student journals
UBC UJP Undergraduate Journal of Psychology
Annual student-run, peer-reviewed journal. "Our goal is to provide a platform for psychology undergraduates at UBC to showcase their research."
UBC Vancouver Psychology Library Assignment (Human Subjects Pool)
The Library writing option is an alternative to participation in the Human Subjects Pool. The option requires that you read articles from the journal Psychological Science, which is available right here.
